Claustrophobia

Varsha Kini
The Coffeelicious
Published in
2 min readMar 14, 2018

What’s worse?
Living with someone you don’t love,
or living with someone who doesn’t love you?

Live, earn, spend, die: REPEAT!
And scrounge for bits of affection in between
Run with your life, like your life depends on it
But let your heart stop, it’s been numb for a while

What’s worse?
Living with someone you don’t love,
or living with someone who doesn’t love you?

Compromises are celebrated,
dreams are incarcerated,
stop! just stop before you explode
I won’t remind you, there’s only one chance

What’s worse?
Living with someone you don’t love,
or living with someone who doesn’t love you?

When was the last time you wanted to scream?
When was the last time you stifled your dreams?
You know the answer, but does your heart know it too?
Does it know that the claustrophobia is created by you?

What’s worse?
Living with someone you don’t love,
or living with someone who doesn’t love you?

The more we grow, the less we live
the more we receive, the less we give
breath, relax, we dont need everything
But, who am I kidding, we are just filled with greed

What’s worse?
Living with someone you don’t love,
or living with someone who doesn’t love you?

I dont like my job, I dont like my spouse,
I have a roof to live under, but gotta get a bigger house!
Run, run as long as you can, and then run even when you’re tired
worry about the big things, your promotion, or what if you get fired?!

What’s worse?
Living with someone you don’t love,
or living with someone who doesn’t love you?

I know the answer to that question,
But just like you, I am too scared to admit,
that I have traded myself for this humanoid,
I want to break free now, but I know, I won’t

--

--

Varsha Kini
The Coffeelicious

Writer, Improviser, Day Dreamer, 100% Random, Ladybugs are my friends….