Do we really know our friends?

Minna Walden
The Coffeelicious
Published in
2 min readMar 15, 2017

To answer this in short, no. Sadly we don’t always know them and what they are capable of. You think you know what makes them tick. You think that you know where their moral compass points, but then they do something that you never believed they were capable of.

The two of you are sitting in a booth at her favorite sushi place. Her choice, because that’s how you are. Always letting her decide. You’re chatting about life and catching up with each other after months of not being able to get together.

You are thinking about how great it is to have her as a friend. She’s thinking about her last naked encounter with your fiance and wondering how you don’t already know. She’s been avoiding you because of what she’s done. What she’s so doing. What she will continue to do, until you find out.

She’s finding it hard to look at you, in your eyes. She knows you trust her and she knows that after this, you never will again. She makes the decision though, to keep betraying you because of her own selfish desires. It’s not that she needs the sex, she needs his influence.

Who he is and who he knows, that can move her along in her career faster than on her own. So she makes a choice, a selfish one. Disregarding what it will do to you, her friend.

He texts you, to see how your lunch is going. You say to her, he’s so sweet, checking to see how our day is. He tells you to say hi for him, and you do. She makes a smirk and you think it’s because she disproves of him. She makes the smirk because she knows why he’s really checking in.

If you enjoyed this, please support my work and click the pretty little heart, then visit my blog for more. ←I love when people do this!

Check out my work at Patreon — Become a Patron and get exclusive content and the first look at my newest work.

--

--

Minna Walden
The Coffeelicious

Atlanta, GA, USA — Words flow from my soul through the ink in my pen, to tear stains on my paper. I am my shadow, my darkness.