Doing It With My Eyes Closed

Rezzan Huseyin
The Coffeelicious
Published in
2 min readApr 10, 2017

I’ve started doing it with my eyes shut.

The first time, it was a little disorientating. The second time, interesting. By the third, I was addicted.

I realized it was just better. It feels better. Amazing, actually.

“Lie down and open your legs. Place one hand on your belly, the other on your heart.”

Okay, but I’m gonna do it with eyes shut. Don’t mind me, OK?

Something weird happens when I close them down, my mince pies. I begin to feel myself. Not like that. I begin to tune into something giant inside me. That thing. What is it?

Breathing. Long, slow, deep breathing.

Moving around now. Flowing with the breath. Still with my eyes closed. (Is it my imagination, or can I get into positions easier this way?)

I’m still here, don’t worry. I’m just having a little safari, an inner journey. I’ll be more me when I’m back.

If I try, when I close my peepers, I can feel this whole room. Her over there with the tattoos. Him with the ponytail. I can feel your dwindling frustration, your growing peace.

You, as you move past me, mildly quizzical. (Is that approval?) I can feel you, too.

Sometimes, I think I see more this way.

I think I’ll do more things with my eyes closed.

--

--