8 Simple Steps to Become a News Maker

A FLOWCHART GUIDE TO NATIONAL MEDIA PROMINENCE

Lon Shapiro
The Coffeelicious
Published in
8 min readMar 5, 2016

--

After watching the social media sh*t storm swirling around Talia Jane, I wondered why a real news story like the Flint water crisis took almost two years and an unknowable amount of damage to the children of that city before it came to the attention of the country.

So I spent the last three years researching other national news makers, people with huge twitter followings and assorted cat videos to put together this detailed flowchart that explains how a story, your story, really any story, regardless of whether it’s true or not can make the national media!

Follow this flowchart carefully, and you’ll become a media mogul before you know it. Oh, and by the way, you’ll want to subscribe to my email newsletter for critical updates and bonus content here, my online webinar here, the seminar coming to your town soon here, and the series of books I’ve written here, here, here and here. I promise there will be no further commercial interruptions. (okay, I lied. Buy something here. Okay, I’m done.)

Part One:

Your Story — Is it true? Does it really matter?

--

--

Lon Shapiro
The Coffeelicious

High quality creative & design https://guttmanshapiro.com. Former pro athlete & high quality performance coach. Teach the world one high quality joke at a time