He still lives there…

Aditya Sathe
The Coffeelicious
Published in
2 min readJan 22, 2016

Sometimes when I am busy in boring mundane routine, I hear someone calling me from there, deep within me. He’s the wanderer hiding in his hole, deep in my mind. He keeps calling me sometime or the other to take him on tour of some new place, to look around and have some fun; or somewhere we had been before, to find what if we have missed anything earlier.

He; my wandering companion; is there ever since I can remember. I can hear his yearning calls for some road trip. Even if it is of just one day, he shows same enthusiasm as he will show for some long tour. I believe that we; as human; never forgot a feeling of looking beyond what we know, ever since we used to live in the caves and cover ourselves with leaves. Our minds are always filled with wanderlust.

But there is no guaranty that he calls me and we just rollout grabbing my gears. Sometimes life throws some surprises on me labeled as “urgent” and I have to fold all of our plans and get busy in work. But I make sure that we hit the road for some short trip to nearest ghats in rains, or some early morning visit to nearby lake, after I clear those ‘urgent’ labels. It feels so refreshed.

I have always kept my destination list open for new entries but Lakshadweep, Pondicherry, Humpi, Konark are constant in that list. Konkan is all time hit plan for me and my wandering companion. Lack of mobile network makes it perfect for us to have some chat. Those clean and lonely beaches, sunshine glimpsing through vistas of high coconut and other trees, cold sea breezes in the evening are nothing but bonus for breaking the routine.

Every trip that we make, fulfills our wanderlust temporarily. But soon after some days, I start hearing his calls again. Yes, I am very glad that he still lives there…

--

--

Aditya Sathe
The Coffeelicious

I read books, talk about them, poems come to me and I write them! For collaboration:- adisjournalpune@gmail.com Director (Geoinformatics) at CDSA, Pune