Humble Beginnings

Nupur Jena
The Coffeelicious
Published in
3 min readJun 14, 2015

Previous Day: 11pm Marriott:

A group of colleagues (22 idiots.. to be precise) refused to answer my calls and messages, about the Bag I left in the Bus while arriving for the Party. It had my keys, My ID and all the un-important stuff. I get super obnoxious as my new heels are tearing the feet apart, My husband gets crazy angry and swear to kill them or something. How the hell can he always manage to look extra sexy when anger gets thru him?

Previous Day: 12pm On the street leading to Home.

So after umpteen calls, some guy asked the driver of the bus to get back to the stop and hand over our bag to us. Cursing & swearing, we took the bag and left.

Next Day: 9am

It’s the Weekend,# late morning ,#cuddles, #hot sizzling Tea & a loving husband. What else do you need! But the brain wants what it wants & it began a silent discussion about the previous night.

A good reflection at the events of last night, I tried to remember if in any ways I was a bad person, or did something bad to any of the guys in my office/ or hurt them? My brain & Heart both in Unison, denied any wrong doing. From the beginning, when I was born or maybe a little older, My Parents damaged my life into making me think, Be & Do – GOOD & the fact that Karma is a bitch. So I grew up being the good girl, never hurting anyone, never giving it back to people who troubled me or hurt me.

I always thought it is bad to be egoistic, having attitude, making people uncomfortable by my success. A topper all my life.. Literally, I always made people comfortable around me, having no air of arrogance.

And in Turn these assholes got to me, their behaviour made me weaker; I sensed a fear in their vicinity due to their bossiness. Eventually I realized – My humbleness was destroying my worth and Me.

I never learned the lesson; I seemed to draw an inordinate number of people into my life who expressed things in a way that often hurt my feelings. Maybe this was all unfolding in this way because I was to learn a life lesson here, and such incidences kept appearing. Perhaps, my self-worth needed to improve and I had to take things less humbly.

People like me, make others believe in their hypothetical supremacy. Even though they are not worth a dime. Their self-worth and control over us grows, and we still stay the humble toppers. This is the time, they strike, make our life miserable and make us feel a pathetic loser.

When people treat YOU like they don’t Care, Believe Them. Yes, and move ahead. Some people can never rise to your level, some may not have the basic human nature to help, some may even not show humanity in case of an unkind event. And all this is Karma.. NO… It’s not your Karma. There is No such thing as Karma. Its all about Self Worth and about the level of people you let affect you. In straight words, Being Up the Earth (rather than Down) is the new learning Life taught me, esp towards ppl who doesn’t even deserve your kindness or humbleness.

So, My humble beginnings are no more MY Humble Endings now. Next time You meet me, Maybe I will be a different person, all geared up to give it back to u, If u are nasty or selfish with ME. Karma is a Bitch and that Bitch is ME! (winks and swaggers away)

Present Day: 5PM Office:

Pass off those 22 colleagues with a “I don’t give a fuck” about you look. Somewhat like a warning sign on my head which reads – Don’t Ever mess with the less humble Me!

Enjoyed reading this piece? Please hit recommend and share with others.

The Coffeelicious on Twitter and Facebook.

--

--

Nupur Jena
The Coffeelicious

Travel Blogger @japannomad.wordpress.com Japanese Interpreter 📝 Coffee Lover ☕️ Civil Engineer