I will make it to the #AskGaryVee Show in 2018. Here’s why.

Thomas Despin
3 min readNov 4, 2017

--

When I grew up as a child, I didn’t really have any idol. I didn’t feel any interest in going to concerts, or to any sport event. My friends would have the posters of their favorite actors in their room. I couldn’t even name them.

I just liked to be by myself, reading, practicing the piano, or playing tennis. For long years as a teenager, I even thought I was an ignorant because I couldn’t follow any conversation about what was on the TV last night.

But if you ask me today who are the 3 people who inspire me the most, then I know, and Gary Vaynerchuk would definitely be one of them.

Another one would be Casey Neistat, who I already met quickly in NYC when I crossed USA on a bicycle from Florida.

Why Gary Vaynerchuk?

I started watching his videos 2 years ago, after my friend David Ams told me I had to check this guy out. He also mentioned that it would take some time before I start appreciating this character.

My parents told me the same with wine when I was younger (I am from Bordeaux, we have to like wine). And it took me years.

It took me 1 month before I stop seeing Gary as “a pretentious asshole preaching everyone and thinking he is the only one to get the truth.”

And guess what? He knows about the first impression he makes on people. He also doesn’t give a shit and keep doing him whatever people think about it.

Since this moment, I watch a few videos when I need a reminder that I am doing nothing while he his taking over the entire fucking World.

The rest of the time, it’s when I DON’T watch him that I am the most grateful. Because it means I got the message and am too busy taking action and getting shit done.

Why the show?

Gary invite all sort of successful and inspiring entrepreneurs in the show, and going there would be a double reward for me:

  • first, for getting to share with him, and finally thank him for all of the massive impact he had on me through his content and words
  • then, because it would mean that I achieved something significant enough so he thinks I have meaningful insights to share to his audience.

When I say I didn’t have an idol, it’s because I never saw any point or value in putting someone on a pedestal just for the sake of doing him and what he loves.

And Gary Vaynerchuk is not my idol though, he is one of my mentors, and someone I intensely respect and admire for what he does and the value he brings to people.

Sometimes I hate him when he pushes it too far with the hustle thing.
Sometimes I love him when he pushes me further with the “go do you” thing.

He probably influenced me quite a bit with the name of my new brand,
do you.

So what’s the plan?

There is zero plan.

I will just keep doing me and growing 1% more every single day through targeted actions, learning, self awareness and laser focus.

I won’t put the work in just to meet him,
that would be the dumbest thing ever.

I will just work so hard and get so much results for the sake of accomplishing my goals, that eventually, I will get his attention and make it to the show.

It’s a goal to go there,
but not an end.

Thank you Gary Vaynerchuk for being one of the most impactful and inspiring entrepreneur of our time.

I will meet you in the show in 2018,

All the best,

Thomas Despin,

→ “CLAP CLAP CLAP” so Gary notices this post ←
Please, press the 👏 (up to 50 times) to increase the chances that Gary finds out about this story. Actually you can just click once on the 👏 and hold it until it displays “50" 😌. Thank you ❤

You might as well follow me to get my next stories.

--

--

Thomas Despin

I build sustainable beach villas on remote paradise islands, in Indonesia — Seen in Forbes, WIRED & Entrepreneur — hi@thomasdespin.com | www.reconnect.id