“Love is all a matter of timing”

Lily Chen
The Coffeelicious
Published in
2 min readDec 15, 2016
image from here

I wish I had met you sooner.

He uttered these words softly as we floated weightlessly under the warm white sheets of his California king bed.

I stared into his cosmic blue eyes, lost in a state of dreamlike wonder. Wishing I had indeed known him my whole life, I nevertheless managed to let my voice whisper the sound of:

“I’m glad we didn’t.”

His eyes immediately asked me the unspoken “why?”

I gave him a delicate smile and answered:

“If I had met you at an earlier time, I don’t think we would have worked out.

Even a year ago, I was a very different person. I was a previous me who hasn’t yet gone through the memories and heartbreaks that shaped me into who I am today.

I cared about different things, things that don’t matter at all anymore. I was naive, selfish, and ignorant.

I don’t think you would have loved the me from a year ago. I don’t think the me from a year ago was mature enough to see, let alone appreciate, the qualities in you.

“I’m lucky I hadn’t met you then because I know we have walked into each other’s lives at precisely the right time.”

“Love is all a matter of timing. It’s no good meeting the right person too soon or too late.” — 2046

If you enjoyed reading this story, mind clicking the heart ❤ icon for me? It would mean so much to me!

--

--

Lily Chen
The Coffeelicious

Senior software engineer at Datadog. I write about tech and life. Portfolio: https://lilychencodes.com/