Musings and Mutterings

Girl Bschool
The Coffeelicious
Published in
2 min readDec 16, 2017

It has been a few days since I have joined a coveted B-school in my country and I’m already willing to exchange my seat for another career alternative.

This is one of my low points, definitely. I had built up this moment so much over the past year that the current reality has fallen quite short of what was construed in the open spaces of my imagination.

So here I am, wondering what to do next. Do I get back to having a job, a job I will most probably not be very happy with? Do I focus on giving a few more exams in the coming year? Or the age-old question: Do I take whatever little money I have and go to Goa?

During times like these I try to convince myself that my life is a PG Wodehouse novel. Yes, there are going to be downs followed by some more downs, but eventually the sun will be shining bright as I cheerfully enter through the gates of my newly acquired estate bequeathed to me by some distant, dead (bless his soul) uncle.

Like most losers (there’s no point sugar-coating this now) I’m reminiscing over the good old times: when I would top a subject back in college, or win the title for the best outgoing student in high school (thank god they didn’t call it Student of the Year, I would never have been able to look at myself the same way again).

And then again, if Chetan Bhagat was smart enough to get accepted in IIM-A and make a great career afterwards, there should be some hope for me…

Now there’s something that anybody who is to be acquainted with me must know right away. There is a part of me that doesn’t quite know how to give up. It can’t think rationally and doesn’t have the cognitive ability to say, “This is not worth it. Must abort plan.” Instead, just like Dory from Finding Nemo, it goes, “Just keep swimming, just keep swimming…” even if it takes you to the pits of the world.

While preparing to enter a b-school, nobody tells you about the crazy hormones coupled with the political scheming that would make even Machiavelli seem like an ignorant fool. Yet here I am, a young girl away from all the pleasures that life could give, stuck sitting between two guys who have refused to shower in over a week, trying to understand which side of the column to put Assets under while sniffing out of my scented Body Shop Lip Balm…

--

--

Girl Bschool
The Coffeelicious

Mutterings and musings of a girl trying to make her way through a b-school.