Of Life Stories and Morals!

Nupur Jena
The Coffeelicious
Published in
4 min readJul 23, 2015

Story 1: Attitude of gratitude

When a bird is alive, it eats ants. When the bird is dead… ants eat the bird. Times and circumstances can change any time. Life is a roller-coaster; you need to come down to go up again. Whenever your mind plays those games where in you are tricked to believe that you define greatness & that excellence is your habit, success is what you get out of everything don’t believe it. If this thought makes you more thankful and down to earth, so far so good. Never cross the thin line between humbleness and Pride. Nurturing Ego or pride is like drinking poison and expecting the other person to die.No one but you will destroy yourself.

As I heard this discourse by a motivational speaker, I tried to think deeply about it. Everything in this world is replaceable, even you. Pride, Jealousy, rudeness, highhanded- ness, having an attitude that doesn’t do us any good can make us a more vulnerable to things we are not. Be and Do good.

I have made it a habit to collect some pebbles from any place I happen to travel each year and paint it with one thing I am thankful for. It may be my qualities, abundance of friendships in my life, love or good things happening to me & my loved ones. Effectively, I feel more happy, content and peaceful with my new attitude of gratitude.

Story 2: Age is just a Number!

I met a couple infact two of them, but in different time frames. One of them yesterday and the other in October 2014 in Mauritius. Similarities you may ask — is that both couples are in their 50’s and they have left a profound effect on me. The one I met in Mauritius had already travelled to 19 countries and now were planning to go to Antarctica and Iceland before they were too old! Taken aback, I asked them how they managed to do that at this age? They just looked at me and said, “If your dreams don’t scare you, they are not BIG enough”!! Forget boundaries and sail to places your heart and soul will thank you for. Its never too late and never too early for doing things which you love. Have no regrets whatsoever. Numbed, I just took a picture of them as a memory & thanked them for saving my life.

Couple 2: Sipping a pumpkin latte in Starbucks, I was observing them giggling at something. They had huge shopping bags stuffed with all the things in the world. I approached them reluctantly and asked if I could join them. They embraced me with open arms, told stories about their love marriage 35yrs earlier and how they still have that spark in their relationship. Pure radiance emerged out of their faces, and hand in hand they departed saying, Just remember dear, “Age is just a number” .If you want to be. happy, BE! Live Laugh and Love, This world is short for holding on to grudges or toxic people, being angry or loving less. Don’t just exist, LIVE. I have their picture too, put up in my goals journal.

Story 3: Hope anchors the soul

“There is no passion to be found playing small — In settling for a life that is less than the one YOU are capable of Living” — Nelson Mandela

There was no reason for her unhappiness. She had it all. A good job, a handsome fiancé, loving parents and great friends. But, there was still something amiss when I met her some days back. The charm on her face was gone. She looked pale and didn’t bother to care about anything. She said she had become a wacko all of a sudden and cannot stay in good spirits atleast once in a day. I asked her if she needed help and if there is anything that I can do for her. Getting no reply, I just asked her 1 simple question –

What is that one thing you look forward to each day?

Thinking deeply and staring in space she could not answer anything. So my dear friends, it’s HOPE. This 4 letter word is the biggest thing life has given us. We need to use it. Never underestimate the power of HOPE. No person or work is small, only our thoughts are. Have a purpose, a goal, something or anything that can make your day. Hope for good things, happy things, funny things, childish dreams, love links, Ice creams, and things that make your heart content and soul blessed.

--

--

Nupur Jena
The Coffeelicious

Travel Blogger @japannomad.wordpress.com Japanese Interpreter 📝 Coffee Lover ☕️ Civil Engineer