Retirement isn’t my goal

Mike Clouse
The Coffeelicious
Published in
2 min readAug 21, 2015

--

I don’t want to retire. I want to live all my days feeling alive. To be excited, like I was as a kid the night before we left on vacation to Disneyland.

Yes, this is possible. I refuse to settle, and this is the life I’m building.

Quitting my job on July 4th was a big step in this direction. I decided to stop selling my life by the hour to the highest bidder. Giving away my days to something I don’t love, while hoping for a better future seemed like a bad trade.

Wanting the prize, the new car or perfect mountain bike, is always more enjoyable and exciting when I’m in the hunt, still in the want phase. The joy I receive after achieving the goal is always short lived and rarely brings the emotional rewards and satisfaction expected.

I believe our lives are the very same way. Retirement is like a carrot that hangs just in front of us, out of reach but pulling us through life, willing to sacrifice our days in the hope we will get that glorious bite.

My observation has been when we go through our daily lives without passion, the transition into a passion-filled retirement is virtually impossible. We’ve unknowingly hardwired our brain to be numb because that’s the only thing that got us through our day-to-day.

I got off that bus.

I’m now building my business around my life; they’re intertwined. The pursuit of living my day is the reward itself. Financially and emotionally.

Not every day will be productive or trouble free, I get that. But I’ll take the worst day living with passion over the 9–5 every single time.

The world we live in has changed. Technology has opened a door to limitless opportunity. There’s no gatekeeper. You don’t need a resume, and no middle manager is going to ask if you have a college degree.

Those days are over.

The thing you love and are most passionate about is your path. Leverage your unique talents and skills and join me in building a life you’re excited to wake up to and live every day. The process is the reward.

I say no to retirement. And yes to life.

--

--