#TBT: FLEX

Farooq (SF Ali) 📊🅿️Ⓜ️
The Coffeelicious
Published in
2 min readJan 5, 2017

ooo, ooo, ooo*

The last time I called out my ex, on some bullshit for the birds I must admit, I had to explain (sorry, “mansplain”) business law and ethics. When asked how I know what I know, I answered instantly, “because I have an MBA”.

Mind you, at this time, I was unemployed, hadn’t caught a break in months — or years, I forget which, because it’s all the same when you’re down and nearly out on the mat, and the ref is counting to ten, and he’s somewhere between 6 and 9 — and just getting back on my feet. It was the first time in months I had emerged from the den of despair called depression, trimmed my beard, combed my hair, wore a blazer, felt like a million bucks. Naturally, my ex replied, “what do you have to show for it?”

Many moons later: you’re about to find out.
Bitch? Darling? Let’s go with bitch. Bitch.

- draft excerpt from my upcoming first book,
a memoir titled Brown Grass #BrownGrass

*that’s a Rich Homie Quan reference, fam.

new selfie, same SF Ali

CALLS TO ACTION

1. Recommend this story. It helps others see the story, lets me know my work is worth writing, reading and recommending and makes me feel validated and fuzzy, because honestly, whose cold, dead heart isn’t instantly thawed and revived by the dizzying dopamine of notifications? Like, share, retweet, lather, rinse, repeat. Also, the doctors say if I don’t feel fuzzy, I’ll die, due to a rare deficiency in social currency triggered whenever my Klout score drops below 70. It’s 67 right now. Not a good look. Do you want me to die?! Didn’t think so.

2. Share this story: Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, email, etc.

3. Connect with me: Medium, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram, Snapchat, Product Hunt, AngelList, Quora and Quibb. (I think that’s all of them!) Write me via email too! Call or text if you want. (917) 982–3849. I’m always happy to make new friends, listen, support, and be helpful in any way I can. That’s why I’m Medium’s resident cheerleader, duh! :)

4. Read my writing. Join my mailing list. Champion future work by considering compensation for my intellectual labor.

--

--

Farooq (SF Ali) 📊🅿️Ⓜ️
The Coffeelicious

🕺🏾 10x Medium Top Writer and resident cheerleader since 2015 ✍️ Author, Brown Grass 🧳 Founder, Perennial Millennial ⏪️ Accenture 📈 subscribe: bit.ly/3oDTYKp