That Time I Ran Over a Rattle Snake

Laura Thomas
The Coffeelicious
Published in
5 min readMay 11, 2018

And other life lessons from the mountain bike

The last thing I would have expected to do upon biking over a rattlesnake was think to myself, “Oh no! Is he okay?”

I also didn’t except to stop directly on top of him, gingerly lift my bike up so he could breathe, then walk back to where my friends stood, mouths gaping.

I’ve learned a lot since starting mountain biking in 2011. In fact, it’s one of the best educations I’ve ever received, not just for improving my coordination and muscle tone, but for life, too.

Here are my top ten life lessons from the bike:

Lesson One: Don’t look at things you want to avoid. Inevitably, you will hit them

The number of times I’ve looked at a tree I wanted to avoid — or rock, or cliff — and ended up colliding with it or careening over the edge is embarrassing. You would think telling myself, “Okay, see this nasty, gnarly tree branch? Don’t hit it. Whatever you do, don’t hit it,” would be enough.

It’s not.

As soon as I trained myself to focus on the line I wanted to take, not the oh-shit-don’t-take-that-lineline, my crashes reduced significantly.

The same can be said for crashes in life. When you keep your eyes on the outcome you desire instead of the one you want to avoid, you’re much more likely to succeed. Always look where you want to go.

Just in case, wear a helmet.

Lesson Two: Don’t downshift before you’ve actually reached the hill

When I first started biking, as soon as I saw a steep incline, I dropped to my lowest gear out of fear. As you might expect, the amount of time it took me to reach the base of the hill was longer than the time it took to actually climb it. Downshifting too early was a waste of my energy and resources.

Similarly in life, your resources are better utilized if you capitalize on the momentum you’ve already built instead of backing away out of fear. Whether it’s a hill in your relationship, at work, or selling your birdhouses on Etsy, keep pushing. Strength begets strength, so stay strong.

Lesson Three: When going down a rock garden, don’t start second-guessing yourself

We all know the outcome of this one. Blood. Exposed bone. Twisted knees. Bad things.

Doubt is a common emotion we all experience, but if you succumb to it after you’ve already committed, you’ll end up with your ankles around your neck, a handle bar in your jugular, and a wrist that shouldn’t bend that direction. Commit. If you tell yourself you’ve got this, you’re halfway there.

Lesson Four: Always pack a Clif Bar

You’ll thank yourself later.

Lesson Five: Be realistic about your capabilities, but don’t apologize

“Sorry you had to wait.” “Just keep going without me.” “Darn, I forgot my Clif Bar. I need to go back, but you should go on.”

I’ve tried all the tactics, making sure my group members know Iknow how terrible I am. Why? Because I’d rather be the one judging myself out loud than knowing they’re silently judging me in their heads. I feel bad that the puffing, red-faced girl in the back is ruining their ride.

The thing is, no one gives a shit. Everyone is out to have fun. Chances are someone agreed to ride with you knowing you’re slow/terrible/whatever. If they wanted to crush it, they wouldn’t have invited you. Now you’re just making them feel awkward.

If you go around apologizing for your shortcomings or lack of experience, no one will want to be around you. Chances are they don’t actually notice or care. Focus on having fun, no matter your skillset. It’s a better use of your energy than self-deprecation, and people will be drawn to you.

Lesson Six: Pump the little dips to carry you farther

I love pumping my bike on a divot to help me sail over the subsequent rise. It makes me feel like a badass. And I have to pedal less.

Use the resources already at your disposal instead of creating new ones. You might think you have to start from ground zero to get something going — be it a business venture or a new relationship — but chances are you can harness your existing experiences to catapult farther. Where can you pump down to rocket up?

Lesson Seven: When you think you’ve hit a wall, keep going. Your second wind is just around the corner

I’m amazed by how resilient my body is. I’ll set out on epic adventures far beyond my fitness level, and after a few hours I’m certain someone will have to call the helicopter. If I keep going, I always discover another wind. My mind wants to give up long before my body.

When your mind tells you something isn’t possible, keep going. Don’t let limiting thoughts hijack what your body and spirit long to accomplish. Get to the next wind, and everything will look different.

Lesson Eight: If there’s an option for a shuttle, don’t take it

I have ridiculously athletic friends, and happen to be gullible. Time and again, this combination ends up with me agreeing to bike to the top of a 32-mile downhill ride because they tell me, “You’ll be sweet!”

Hours later, after numerous shuttles have passed us, we finally reach the trailhead. At that moment, there’s nothing better than pointing my bike downhill, and with burning thighs, a throbbing heart, and a dry mouth, savoring each twist and turn.

Living the life you want isn’t easy. If it were, we’d all be lying on a beach eating doughnuts, our abs mysteriously becoming more defined with each bite. Victory tastes sweeter when you’ve put in the sweat equity. Earn your turns. Climb to the top. The descent will be even more rewarding.

Lesson Nine: If you don’t make time for the bike, the bike won’t make time for you

We’re all busy. We also waste a lot of time doing mindless stuff, like scrolling on social media or binging watching Netflix. If I don’t make time to bike, my fitness level drops, my bike falls into disrepair, and my motivation continues to wane.

Similarly, if we don’t make time to live, life will pass us by. We need to nurture the things we care about, giving them our time, attention, and love. This goes for family, hobbies, careers, health, anything we hold dear. Water it. Make time for it. Get your fricken bike tuned.

Lesson Ten: If you run over a rattlesnake, don’t stop. For God’s sake, don’t stop biking

Also in life. Don’t stop.

I’ve dedicated my life to exploring what it means to be human. If you’re serious about life and want to go deeper, I send out thoughtful emails + videos exploring the messiness. http://www.lauratheexplora.org/laura-letter

--

--

Laura Thomas
The Coffeelicious

Author, storyteller, professional editor/ghost writer. Sometimes, fairy princess. https://www.laurathomaswrites.com/newsletter