The art of Keeping Friends, Getting Kick-Ass & finding True Love!​

Nupur Jena
The Coffeelicious
Published in
5 min readJul 1, 2015

Opening the door to my hostel room, A rather Fat me in 2005 couldn’t keep my eyes of a girl (In a good way!!) sitting in the next room, somewhat stoned (due to sleep) looking at Me anxiously.

Me: Hey Hi… New to College? What’s your Name?

Friend 1: Yea… I guess the College started 2 months ago!!

Me: Yes… I never saw you earlier…

Friend 1: Me too..!!

N then there was Laughter… and more of everything for the next 4 yrs. I vividly recall that time with fondness about our girly talks, that giggling and forgetting the world around us when we were together. We gave a shit about people and I mean all of them except US! We had our ups and downs, but had such a bond that exactly 10 years later in 2015, living in different continents we still bitch about people, Life, In-laws and husbands!

We don’t know how we survived for so long and still love each other like crazy! Keeping Friendships is something I learned from her.

Same Year: Class of 2005: With New faces all around; I knew the least about how to make friends and influence everyone into believing “I am that ONE FRIEND, you need”.

In between a Class test: Friend 2 (Male) : Hey can you just show me , the answer to some Mathematics problem (I was a real nerd during those days and knew everything about all subjects ever learned by mankind!!)

Me: snarling …No… why should I? hmmmm Ok but just 1 answer… No more!

Friend 2: Copies the answer and keeps his mouth shut till the exam gets over..

Later: Friend2: Can I know your name Please?

Me: Why?? Why you wanna know my Name…so that you can call me next time to get all the answers? Fuck off…. End of story…

He just gave a smile and left … I felt a bit weird to have shoo-ed away, a guy who so innocently asked my Name. Feeling sorry about my not so good ways… (As far I remembered, my entire school life was spent in an all-girls school, and I got a nightmare every time a guy talked to ME).

A few talks later, He and I became the Best of friends, anyone but Me could have ever imagined. To this day, we still talk weird things mostly about Life in general, Meditation and its uses to human mind, The art of phycology & spiritual Being. Recently we also talked about co-writing a Novel!! He was an- Acting boyfriend to show off people at times and to keep away from the dangerous kinds!

10 Years later- 2015: We still talk about our dream which says to have a cup of Coffee in New York on a sunny afternoon overlaying many skyscrapers… Can you believe that?

For a person, who never knew how to talk to guys, make friendships – leave alone keeping them. I have come a long way to have made such great friends for life and kept them.

Behold – Year 2008: July to be precise: Campus Recruitments:

Spotting & avoiding a guy from my class who I never talked to ever…

He: Hey dear, how was the interview? Mine was good, will get selected maybe..

Me: Ohhkay…. That’s great news! Mine was good too.. Thank you for the concern!

Thank you for the concern!!! I was outta my freaking mind to have said that to a guy, I hardly knew! I screwed the rest of the interview anyways…

After the Interviews: One day

He: Hey Hi… again… So now that we both have jobs don’t you think we should celebrate with a movie or lunch maybe? We both did well and have jobs before we leave college.. isn’t it great?

Me: Somewhat drooling over the perfume he had put & the way he carried himself, thinking of him as single or taken that fast was no good for me!! Oh Yes.. yes… its really great… sure… Movie thing is okay with Me…

That was the first time I felt a bit shy talking to a guy, given the fact that my boisterous nature was well known in the class. Ok.. I give up.. I was a TOM BOY…

That day, to my surprise, I put on a sexy dress and some more sexy stilettoes. Yes a movie and Lunch Date… or No- Date Maybe!! Who knew that friendship would last only for 3 months?? Coz’ given the chemistry we shared, we were already a couple in the eyes of everyone we knew or dint knew!

And surely that friendship turned into LOVE faster than light travels the Earth. Love blossomed and we knew that we never would be able to find it anywhere else, but in each other. That first kiss, the first Coffee and all the firsts are still so much in our hearts that we never ever have a dull moment in our crazy lives. Love made me the person I am today- Happy, confident, independent, getting my perspective in place, being ambitious and somewhat more responsible! I never thought that He will show me a way to become this Kick-Ass person, I always wanted to be.

7 Years Later: We are happily married being somewhat obsessed with each other and in eternal bliss or so…!!

There You Go!!! :D

The Coffeelicious on Twitter and Facebook.

--

--

Nupur Jena
The Coffeelicious

Travel Blogger @japannomad.wordpress.com Japanese Interpreter 📝 Coffee Lover ☕️ Civil Engineer