The Beautiful Planet

Mark J. Force
The Coffeelicious
2 min readMar 10, 2017

--

“You really want to buy it?”

“Yes, I do. Is it still for sale?”

“Indeed it is!”

“Why, may I ask, has that wonderful blue and green planet not yet been sold?”

“Oh, there are plenty of reasons! You know that out of the five trillion habitable planets, Earth is the most beautiful? And it’s still on the market!”

“Well, why! I’ve never even heard of it, but it was one of the greatest that I’ve laid eyes on. And I’ve laid eyes on many a beautiful world. It is perfect for a new colony. Of course, I’d have to wipe the existing inhabitants and cleanse the place, but after all that it’d most definitely be worth it. Do you not agree?”

“Oh, I’d agree, if I was unaware of how they have chosen to use their power.”

“You mean the secret to interstellar flight?!”

“Of course that’s what I mean, there are very few other powers, you know.”

“But if they have the secret to interstellar flight, why have they not been inducted into our halls! Nearly every day a newly inducted species pops into our system. Why are they confined to their tiny planet! This is news to me!”

“It is mad my friend. They have the secret to interstellar flight, but they have taken it and turned it against each other!”

“On their very own planet?!”

“Indeed! Can you believe the idiocy! So many surrounding planets that are void of habitation, and yet they don’t give them a moments thought. Detonating explosions, destroying each other whenever they get the urge.”

“What a waste of a beautiful planet! I must assume that they also kill each other?”

“Of course they do, they are barbaric to their very core. No, you would be better off choosing a different home for your colony. Earth is uninhabitable for civilized creatures, and it is quite dangerous planet. I’d steer clear.”*

Thank you for the read. If you enjoyed that article or it struck a chord with you, please share it with others! Subscribe for more content like this, something new every Tuesday and Thursday! You can also check out my other short stories and posts here on Medium. Feel free to leave a comment, feedback, or shoot me a personal message on Twitter (Mark J. Force) or Instagram (markjforce)

*Inspired by war and Isaac Asimov

--

--

Mark J. Force
The Coffeelicious

writer of sci-fi, fantasy, and the occasional essay. mandarin speaker, asian food lover, avid reader, husband, cat dad.