The Captive

Chapter 3: The Room

Hernan Lopez M
The Coffeelicious
8 min readApr 21, 2016

--

“What do you want from me?”

“Herman, calm down” He was not aggressive, instead he was very calm. We were walking in a white corridor, very well-lit and long. His face didn’t look evil, he had short black hair, hefty eyebrows, and a full beard that looked very well groomed; as if he just went to the barber to get it fixed. He was wearing a black suit with a thin black tie and a white shirt, it fit him tightly like a European suit.

As we were walking towards the white door at the end of the corridor I had mixed thoughts about what was going to happen. I was scared of whatever they wanted from me, but at the same time I was intrigued because they wanted me to work something for them. I know I should only be scared but even if it is for evil, we all have curiosity when it comes to someone showing interest for our talent.

We arrived at the door. The big man that had brought me the trey of food earlier stepped forward and opened the door.

“This is the computer room,” said the boss, “you will be working here”

“And what is it that you want me to do?” I said aggressively.

“First, I want you to calm down and understand you are not in control here.”

“I am not scared of you, you think I…” He slapped me before I could finish my sentence. And calmly said, “Herman, the sooner you understand that I am the boss here, the sooner we can start working together.”

“I need to know what am I doing and for whom”

“I’m sorry, how rude of me. My name is Bernard, you will be working for me.” He said politely, “you remember coding a data encryption algorithm for your dad’s company?”

“Yes I do, I got a scholarship for that algorithm, and even the US army is interested in using it.”

“No, Herman, they are not only interested. They are using it already”

I was surprised to hear this. They didn’t notify me about this, they just said they were interested in using my algorithm and they would hire me for further development, but they never said they started using it. I couldn’t answer anything I bet my face is obviously showing my surprise.

“You see, Herman, your algorithm is more powerful than you give yourself credit for.” He started explaining, “It is the best data encryption algorithm because it can evolve.”

“What do you mean it can evolve? And how do you know they are using it?” I had so many questions. I didn’t know where to start.

“Herman, everything will be explained. I can only tell you that your algorithm changes itself when there is an attempt bypass it, and it can also be changed to become a key for decryption.”

“I know how it works,” I said a bit annoyed, “but what do you mean it can become a key?”

“The same way it changes itself for encryption, it could change itself for decryption”

I didn’t think of this when I designed my algorithm, it was more complex than I ever imagined. And even more powerful.

“So if you know all this why didn’t you just change it?” I asked confused.

“I tried, I even hired software engineers. Nobody understands it, only you” he said desperately.

“Why do you want a decryption key?”

“Too much questions for the day,” he interrupted quickly, “It’s time for you to see your new room”

He then started walking towards the corridor again. I followed him, kind of being forced by the big guy behind me. As we walked in the corridor I couldn’t stop thinking of all the information he just gave me. Why didn’t the US Army notify me of the use of my algorithm? And why does this guy want a decryption key? We turned right and passed by my old room, the really dark one with no windows. I was relieved I was not going back there. We arrived at a white door. Bernard opened the door and said:

“This is your new room, a significant upgrade from the last one I think. You will find everything you need to work here. You have a computer, and a limited internet connection that will be monitored 24/7. There is a mini-fridge with drinks, and snacks. And you can contact Nathan over here with the intercom. During the day you will work at the computer room. Here you will just write code, the computer room is for actual testing. Any questions?” He asked politely. He referred to the big guy as Nathan.

“A lot” I said overwhelmed.

“Well, I couldn’t care less” his tone of voice changed to be more aggressive.

They both left the room to leave me there. It was a small room, four white walls approximately 3 meters long each. It had a desk with a computer and a twin sized bed with white sheets. There was a door that led to the bathroom to the right of the desk. It was a decent clean bathroom with a toilet, a shower, and a sink with a small mirror. A much better room than the last one.

I decided to take a long warm shower and then sleep for a while before checking the computer. While I was in the shower, reality hit. What is my family thinking? Are they worried? Do they know who kidnapped me and why? More questions that I cannot answer. I don’t even know if they are safe. There is not much I can do anyway. The shower felt great after being in all this drama for two days of being beaten and being in a dark room. It felt even better to lie down on the bed, which wasn’t very comfortable, but felt like lying in a cloud after the two days I’ve had. Without even noticing I fell asleep.

To be continued…

New Chapter Every Wednesday.

�(ҟ,5}

Chapter 3: The Room

“What do you want from me?”

“Herman, calm down” He was not aggressive, instead he was very calm. We were walking in a white corridor, very well-lit and long. His face didn’t look evil, he had short black hair, hefty eyebrows, and a full beard that looked very well groomed; as if he just went to the barber to get it fixed. He was wearing a black suit with a thin black tie and a white shirt, it fit him tightly like a European suit.

As we were walking towards the white door at the end of the corridor I had mixed thoughts about what was going to happen. I was scared of whatever they wanted from me, but at the same time I was intrigued because they wanted me to work something for them. I know I should only be scared but even if it is for evil, we all have curiosity when it comes to someone showing interest for our talent.

We arrived at the door. The big man that had brought me the trey of food earlier stepped forward and opened the door.

“This is the computer room,” said the boss, “you will be working here”

“And what is it that you want me to do?” I said aggressively.

“First, I want you to calm down and understand you are not in control here.”

“I am not scared of you, you think I…” He slapped me before I could finish my sentence. And calmly said, “Herman, the sooner you understand that I am the boss here, the sooner we can start working together.”

“I need to know what am I doing and for whom”

“I’m sorry, how rude of me. My name is Bernard, you will be working for me.” He said politely, “you remember coding a data encryption algorithm for your dad’s company?”

“Yes I do, I got a scholarship for that algorithm, and even the US army is interested in using it.”

“No, Herman, they are not only interested. They are using it already”

I was surprised to hear this. They didn’t notify me about this, they just said they were interested in using my algorithm and they would hire me for further development, but they never said they started using it. I couldn’t answer anything I bet my face is obviously showing my surprise.

“You see, Herman, your algorithm is more powerful than you give yourself credit for.” He started explaining, “It is the best data encryption algorithm because it can evolve.”

“What do you mean it can evolve? And how do you know they are using it?” I had so many questions. I didn’t know where to start.

“Herman, everything will be explained. I can only tell you that your algorithm changes itself when there is an attempt bypass it, and it can also be changed to become a key for decryption.”

“I know how it works,” I said a bit annoyed, “but what do you mean it can become a key?”

“The same way it changes itself for encryption, it could change itself for decryption”

I didn’t think of this when I designed my algorithm, it was more complex than I ever imagined. And even more powerful.

“So if you know all this why didn’t you just change it?” I asked confused.

“I tried, I even hired software engineers. Nobody understands it, only you” he said desperately.

“Why do you want a decryption key?”

“Too much questions for the day,” he interrupted quickly, “It’s time for you to see your new room”

He then started walking towards the corridor again. I followed him, kind of being forced by the big guy behind me. As we walked in the corridor I couldn’t stop thinking of all the information he just gave me. Why didn’t the US Army notify me of the use of my algorithm? And why does this guy want a decryption key? We turned right and passed by my old room, the really dark one with no windows. I was relieved I was not going back there. We arrived at a white door. Bernard opened the door and said:

“This is your new room, a significant upgrade from the last one I think. You will find everything you need to work here. You have a computer, and a limited internet connection that will be monitored 24/7. There is a mini-fridge with drinks, and snacks. And you can contact Nathan over here with the intercom. During the day you will work at the computer room. Here you will just write code, the computer room is for actual testing. Any questions?” He asked politely. He referred to the big guy as Nathan.

“A lot” I said overwhelmed.

“Well, I couldn’t care less” his tone of voice changed to be more aggressive.

They both left the room to leave me there. It was a small room, four white walls approximately 3 meters long each. It had a desk with a computer and a twin sized bed with white sheets. There was a door that led to the bathroom to the right of the desk. It was a decent clean bathroom with a toilet, a shower, and a sink with a small mirror. A much better room than the last one.

I decided to take a long warm shower and then sleep for a while before checking the computer. While I was in the shower, reality hit. What is my family thinking? Are they worried? Do they know who kidnapped me and why? More questions that I cannot answer. I don’t even know if they are safe. There is not much I can do anyway. The shower felt great after being in all this drama for two days of being beaten and being in a dark room. It felt even better to lie down on the bed, which wasn’t very comfortable, but felt like lying in a cloud after the two days I’ve had. Without even noticing I fell asleep.

To be continued…

New Chapter Every Wednesday.

�(ҟ,5}

--

--