The Captive

Chapter 7: The Plan

Hernan Lopez M
The Coffeelicious
5 min readMay 26, 2016

--

I waited in my room that night. I was expecting Gaby to come to my room so I could set my plan in motion, I really need her for this; she’s the last piece of the puzzle. She was pissed earlier so I had to be extra careful with what I said and how I treated her. I heard a knocking on the door. The door opened. Gaby entered, wearing a white dress, her blonde wavy hair fell on her shoulder. She looked as beautiful as ever.

“What did you want to talk about?” She said in a serious tone.

“I believe you, Gaby,” I tried to make my voice sound empathetic, “I want to help you, and I need you to help me, so we can get out of here together.”

“Okay, I’m listening.” She started to open herself, her voice relaxed as she said this, “What is the plan?”

“All I need from you is a USB so I can retrieve the information of what I worked on here,” I explained, “and I need you to tell me what you know about why they want me here and what do they need the algorithm for.”

“If you take me with you I’ll tell you everything I know,” This time she sounded happy, I could sense her tone as if she had hope now, “when we break out of here I need protection for my sister too.”

“Of course, Gaby, we can protect your sister,” I said consolingly. I stepped towards her and grabbed her by the arms. She seemed worried, her eyes filling with tears and her smile fading. I hugged her and whispered, “I promise everything will be okay.” She held me tight when I said this. When she stopped squeezing I let go. She looked into my eyes and I looked back into hers. I couldn’t control my impulse. I grabbed her hip with my right hand and pulled her towards me. She looked me directly in the eyes as I leaned towards her face. I felt her tears in my cheeks as we slowly intertwined our lips. As she slipped her hand through my neck and grabbed my hair in the back of my head, I could hear my own heartbeat racing. The scent of her vanilla perfume flooded my nostrils. I tasted the sweetness of her lips like cherry as we both slowly separated.

She sighed and smiled, “Wow,” I could hear her breathing heavily, “That was…” She kept breathing heavily. “Wow!”

I smiled, “It was nice.” I barely could keep my voice straight, but I didn’t want to seem too eager so I made an effort to utter the words as articulate as possible.

“Here,” she moved her hand towards mine, and she gave me something, “That’s the USB. Take me with you and I’ll tell you whatever you need to know about these guys.”

She quickly pulled my head a little as she stood on her tiptoes to kiss me again, this time just a peck, then whispered, “I’ll see you tomorrow, sleep tight.” She turned around and opened the door, as I stood there watching her leave walking like a model, the door closed.

I had everything I needed now to set the plan in motion. With the USB and Gaby on board everything was set. I was very tired so I decided to lie down. I started thinking about the kiss. It was awesome but it didn’t feel completely right. Maybe I didn’t feel what I expected to feel. It was bittersweet. I was very tired so I decided to sleep and start the plan in the morning.

I woke up like every day, and went to the work station. As soon as I was alone I plugged the USB. I retrieved all my work to the USB, I then set a timed command to wipe the entire computer in two days. Like last time I opened a secret encrypted window to contact the army again, in the message I wrote:

“Agent Wolf, code MME112664, all is set to escape. Send rescue ASAP.”

When I was closing the window, the door opened behind me. I turned around and it was Bernard. His face was red with anger and his eyes wide open. He punched me in the face with a quick swing. I fell to the floor with my nose bleeding. As I opened my mouth to speak he slapped my face to shut me up. He grabbed my hair and dragged me through the floor. The pain I was feeling was overwhelming and the concern for what he was going to do to my friends was killing me. He threw me into the dark room I was before, and shouted at Nathan:

“Tie him up, Nathan,” his voice was cracking up with rage, “beat the crap out of him too.”

Nathan lifted me like a piece of paper and tied me to the chair. He grabbed me by the shirt and punched me with the force of a wrecking ball. My face felt hot, even burning. He punched me again and this time I fell with the chair, hit the back of my head with the floor and faded away.

When I woke I felt a déjà vu, my whole body burning in pain, the dark room around me and being tied to a fucking chair. It felt like these 6 weeks being here were a dream. It felt like I never left this room. Just as I thought all hope was lost I realized I still had the USB; they didn’t pat me up because I felt it in my pocket. It was not all a loss. Maybe there is still some hope. The door opened, the shadow of Bernard entering the room reminded me of my first day here. He approached me and got really near my face.

“What did you send in that message?” He asked with a demanding voice.

I started laughing softly at first and then loud. With a mocking tone I answered, “You are going to be so fucked when they rescue me.”

He slapped me and said, “I didn’t want to pull this card, but you leave no choice here.” He stepped back and called Nathan with a hand signal. “Nathan, go visit his friend in her house,” he looked up like remembering something, “What was her name? Myrcella?” He started laughing softly and mockingly, with a hint of evil in the tone, “Oh, yeah, Mirela.”

“Noooo!” I shouted, “Wait. I was bluffing, I didn’t really send anything.”

“Go, Nathan.” He said seriously, “Show this guy we don’t bluff.”

“No, please, leave her alone!” I shouted struggling with the chair.

He turned around laughing, and slammed the door. I had never been more worried. I kept struggling for a few minutes and I started crying with desperation, I kept shouting with no response. I felt everything was lost; he won. After a couple of minutes I stopped struggling but I couldn’t stop crying. The feeling of losing Mirela was too much. She had no fault in all this and I got her involved just for knowing her, this was not fair.

As I kept weeping, I heard a noise from the door, the knob was moving and someone was pushing it. Suddenly the door opened and I saw a strange shadow, my eyes were used to darkness so I couldn’t recognize who it was. The shadow approached me as I was crying and said in a consoling but mocking tone: “Come on, cry baby, let’s go”

To be continued.

New Chapter every Wednesday.

--

--