The Coffee Shop Killers, Chapter 1

Kat Coffe
The Coffeelicious
Published in
2 min readDec 12, 2020

--

I’ll Pretend For Now

Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

My eyes scanned him for expressions as we walked in the snow towards his campus. The leftover snow from hours ago crunched under our boots, steam from our mouths trailing us as we walked. I looked up to the clear dark night sky, the stars were bright and showing their true selves.

“Pure bliss,” my lips mouthed. That’s all I saw in his expression as I let him hold my hand as we walked. “Why?” I asked him.

“Why what?”

“Why do you love me, even though you know, I’m a killer.”

He gave me the same answer they all did. Men love nothing more than loving something dangerous, something unknown, something that can hurt them, or even better, is hurting them. Hours before, he was helping me bury the body on the side of the hill next to my apartment, unmarked, forever to remain unknown but to the residents already residing in the cemetery dirt.

“I don’t know. How do you put a name to a feeling?”

“You can try.”

His hand squeezed mine tight for a second. “I just was in love with you the moment I saw you.”

“So, you think I’m beautiful?” Males are so shallow.

“I think you’re,” he paused thinking, looking down. “I think you’re otherworldly. I think you…

--

--

Kat Coffe
The Coffeelicious

Covering the underground scene since 2013. Check out my poetry book “28–29”: https://au.blurb.com/b/8268703-28-29?ebook=642778