The Coffee Shop Killers, Chapter 2

Kat Coffe
The Coffeelicious
Published in
5 min readJan 8, 2021

--

Start The Crimewave

Kalamazoo, Michigan
2010, Fall

It all began to landslide after I discovered Trent had a penchant for risky activities. He loved the rush an adrenalin high supplied. Although he was indeed a harmless person his craving for excitement often pushed his actions to an extreme.

I remember it beginning with him running ten miles every day in conspicuously short shorts, “to maintain my physique.” He then progressed to stealing cheap jewelry from franchised fashion stores to give me. Eventually, it evolved into what I was lead to believe was involuntary manslaughter.

We were living in a dilapidated studio apartment that was built upon the side of a hidden hill and neighbored by an old vast cemetery.

We lived in an old home built in the 1940’s which had been split into three modest-sized apartments. It was not up to code, all of the air vents were connected to the other rooms in the house. Which meant If one person smoked pot or burned incense, everyone could smell it. I had one neighbor upstairs and a couple living on the right of me. At night sometimes we’d all hang out on the screened-in porch and drink cocktails while sitting on thrift store armchairs.

--

--

Kat Coffe
The Coffeelicious

Covering the underground scene since 2013. Check out my poetry book “28–29”: https://au.blurb.com/b/8268703-28-29?ebook=642778