The Greatest Lie I Ever Lived

Heegos
The Coffeelicious

--

The greatest lie I ever lived was believing that you loved me.
Holding one another close, staring through each other’s eyes.
Smiling like mad, lost in the moment.
Faith will do that to a person.

The greatest lie I ever lived was trusting you.
Selfish, deceitful, and manipulative — everything I knew you weren’t.
Half-truths and wordplay spilled out like lyrics to your latest song.
Offbeat and out of key, I tapped my foot along as if all were fine.

The greatest lie I ever lived was refusing to let you go.
It was easy to take you back when I never acknowledged that you left.
Growth stunted, like a weak sapling, I was there to brace you and help you stand strong.
You were there to hold me up the just same, as much as I was you.

The greatest lie I ever lived was believing things had changed.
I believed it not because you said it, but because I felt it.
I could sense it with every smile, every kiss, every night shared.
Who knew if it would last until the morning, but at least we had the night.

The greatest lie I ever lived was thinking you wouldn’t leave.
I knew from the moment you got here that this was just a stop along the way.
We talked about the future, mostly out of instinct.
Neither of our words could hold water, leaking lies throughout my apartment.

The greatest lie I ever lived was thinking it could be any other way.
It’s like grabbing a white-hot coal and expecting not to be burned.
No surprise twist, no happy ending, no fairy tale for us.
The greatest lie I ever lived was denying the inevitable.

If you like this article, then please hit ❤ and share with others.

Follow Coffeelicious on

--

--