The Most Difficult Thing Is To Do Nothing

Keay Nigel
3 min readApr 25, 2016

--

Sometimes you have to realise that there are areas in life where you have no control over. No matter what thought or effort you put in, nothing will come out of it. Nothing will get better, or worse. Nothing will, because of you, be solved or expedited.

And all you can do is to wait for it to pass. Wait for it to be resolved on its own. Or wait for it to be healed by time. Whatever mistake, whatever regret, whatever wrongdoing.

Truly, the most difficult thing to do is to accept the powerlessness that you’re feeling, and to tell yourself that you are not going to try and do something to savage the situation.

To let things be. To give up fighting against what you’re faced with, and to instead go with it. Like they say, trust your struggle, right?

Even though it may seem to be a hurdle, a detour or a stop sign, it could also be for the betterment of things. It could be the better way, just that you don’t see it just yet. Because you are so insistent in going your own way instead of letting things fall into place as they do.

You are too busy trying to catch everything and make sure that they are how you would like them to be. But life doesn’t always work that way. It often does, but it doesn’t always.

Just because we have control over certain things doesn’t mean we should have control over all things.

As it is, each time when I thought that I have the most patience in the world, and that I don’t usually blow up at things that do not go my way, life would then happen in a way that tests my very limit.

Whenever this happens, I find that I have to push myself and my endurance to the next level, or I risk being swallowed by the situation I’m trapped in.

It’s much easier to imagine nice things when you’re happy with how things are going. But when things go bad, or not as how you planned, it’s difficult to imagine better things happening. On the contrary, you worry about the worst of scenarios, which in turn cause you to worry more. And that goes into a vicious cycle of thinking worse and feeling worse.

This is when I would try to tell myself to stop resisting what had happened. If I’m stuck in a situation, then I’m stuck. There is no point in trying to reject the situation and then feel more upset about it.

If there is nothing I can do to better things, then the best is to leave things as they are. To wait. Perhaps deal with something else first and it later.

And hopefully when you get back to it again, things would have already been resolved. Or you’d find an easier, better way to deal with it. If not, then you try to do what you can, and then leave it in peace.

Trust in yourself, that you can face whatever that comes. More importantly, have faith in the universe — how it will bring things together in the best way that will bring you the most good.

Live more in faith and less in fear, and you’ll be able to experience more peace, less anxiety.

There can be joy and harmony in the waiting and the doing of nothing too.

--

--

Keay Nigel

Keay Nigel is also on Huffpost, BuzzFeed, EliteDaily & Thought Catalog // IG: @keaynigel