The Price Tag of Freedom * Conditions Apply

Akuti
The Coffeelicious
Published in
2 min readApr 18, 2017

“Freedom is one of our fundamental rights since birth.” I was told so in school.

“You are born in a free country, you should be thankful.” My father told me.

“As a modern woman you can choose your career and your life partner”. A fairness cream ad told me.

“The country paid a huge price for your freedom”. The history book told me.

“Freedom doesn’t come for free, you pay for it by accepting its rules”. The society told me.

“You are free to choose your belief system, your sexual orientation, subjects of interest from the limited and legally approved spread”. The government told me.

“You are free to eat whatever you like as long as you don’t offend the religious sentiments of the religion you are born into.” The priest told me.

“The earth belongs to us, you are free to go anywhere you like as long as you carry valid visa to enter that part of the earth.” The world leaders told me.

“ You are free to choose your lifestyle as long as it resonates with our culture.” My extended relatives told me.

“You are free to learn any language you like, as long as you think your mother tongue is the sweetest of all.” The cultural flag bearers at my college told me.

“Its your life you are free to decide whatever you want to do with it, as long as you don’t commit suicide” The police told me.

You are free to plan your family as you like, as long as you start a family.” My mother told me.

Be grateful, not everyone in this world has freedom like yours. *

*Conditions apply

--

--

Akuti
The Coffeelicious

Wants to be a little bit of everything. Different like everyone else.