The Truth About Morning and Night People

Little-known science that could change how you see yourself

Maria Ter-Mikaelian
The Coffeelicious

--

A lark and an owl. Photos by: Left, Michele Lamberti/Flickr, source; right, Bryn Jones/Flickr, source

When I was a teenager, I used to dream about the day when scientists finally proved that some people are biologically wired to be night owls. On school mornings, I would wake up to my alarm in a murderous mood, praying I wouldn’t bump into any family members on my way to the bathroom. I would brush my teeth and imagine a future in which the whole world no longer marched to a morning person’s drum.

A good friend of mine in college had the opposite frustration: on weekends, she would be up for hours before any of her housemates stirred. She was ready to go out and have fun, if only they would finally wake up! By 10 p.m., when they were getting ready for a night out on the town, she was getting ready for bed.

--

--

Maria Ter-Mikaelian
The Coffeelicious

Maria has a Ph.D. in Neuroscience and writes depth pieces about the biology of humans and other animals. Follow her on Twitter @MariaTerScience