To Wine Or Not To Wine. That Is The Question.

Angela Barnett
The Coffeelicious
Published in
5 min readJun 9, 2016

Wine makes life more exciting. The taste, the boisterous conversations, the unbuttoning of inhibitions, and the superior dance moves. Then there’s cooking with wine — as my Great Aunt Hazel likes to say, “one glass for the meal, one for the chef!”

These were my thoughts as I battled the idea of giving up for a month.

You see, I’m not sure who’s in charge anymore: me or the Pinot Noir.

My preferred glass size is about as big as this one.

Usually I have two before dinner. Every night.

For a while I was trying to do the five/two rule: drink for five nights and have two off. I can definitely achieve one night — when I’m at yoga only because you can’t drink wine and stretch at the same time. I’m sure if there was a class for both I’d be there.

Every other night I think about wine the moment I walk in the door. I’m annoyed if I have to sit down on the couch and read a book to my children if I haven’t managed to collect my bucket of wine on my way past. I tell myself it’s OK because I have all my teeth. And I’m not drinking alone; my seven and nine-year-old are with me.

If we’re heading out with friends I will take a bottle and drink the entire thing. Quite easily. Sometimes we drink so many bottles I can’t tell how much I’ve had.

I wonder if I will still be doing this at 65.

Addiction runs in our family. My great-grandmother kept bottles of gin stashed in nicely crocheted door stoppers holding up every door in the house (it was very windy inside apparently). I’ve been addicted to barfing, smoking, Bikram yoga, diet pills, tuna salads, coffee and picking that rough skin around my nails when I’m anxious. I would like to get hooked on deep breathing and saying nice calm sentences all day but that doesn’t seem to stick. So that leaves my old friend, red wine.

One night, as I poured myself another gigantic glass, my daughter said, ”Why do you drink wine Mummy?’ and I tried to think of a good answer.

Because it makes my face nice and blotchy!

Because it makes me not care whether you eat your vegetables!

Because it makes me not care!

Because I care a LOT. Too much. I care about too many things and not enough things. Sometimes I’ll see an old man at the bus stop and I’ll start caring about him and his apparent loneliness and I don’t even know him. But then I won’t care about cleaning the toilet for at least five days past the point I should care. Sometimes I care about changing the world and how will I do that with only 74 likes on my new Facebook page. But then I’ll forget to care about doing my taxes. Sometimes I’ll see a story about elephant poaching and I’ll be so upset I’ll spend an hour on a tweet hoping it will make other people read the story and get angry. But I’ll forget to pick up milk for my family. Sometimes I really care about what I’m wearing and then I’ll forget about getting those hairs on my chin sorted.

I think that’s why I like drinking as it numbs me. I care less. I feel less. I fear less. Wine helps me iron it all out into a smooth, grease-free pattern in my mind.

So I didn’t want to give it up but I did.

For a month.

I survived a girls’ night out, a 40th, a comedy gala and thirty-one meals with my family. I would like to report my body felt amazing and so much healthier but it didn’t. My body didn’t really feel different but my mind did.

Wine had stopped bossing me around and I felt kickass.

Once it was over I wasn’t sure what to do — go back to being the lush that I knew or keep going? I didn’t want to be the woman who has to have her tub of red every night or the person who says NO THANKS I DON’T DRINK as I never gravitate towards those people. In fact, I don’t really know many people like that.

Women and wine are like Jesus and sandals; I can’t imagine one without the other. I can’t imagine having fun with my girlfriends without wine. I can’t imagine having fun.

If only moderation came in a pill.

I asked for advice from my friends and got so much. Too much. And I became more confused. Should I stop drinking? Would I have a different life sober? Would I be a better mother? Would I become really serious? Would I find myself really boring? Would sex be boring?

And then one friend said the sagest thing, “If you’re in charge, then drink. If you’re not in charge then don’t.”

That’s it. Sometimes we need a reboot to put ourselves in charge again, which is probably why some clever cloggs created Dry July (or it was a marketing gimmick for ginger beer). May doesn’t have anything sober about it, although there is Masturbation Month but that’s another story.

So I’ve decided that if Pinot Noir is my friend then I have it with friends, and if I’m at home with no friends then I don’t. Most of the time. This may be the mind of an alcoholic fooling herself but as long as I’m not stashing crocheted bottles around the house then perhaps I’ve got nothing to whine about.

Me deciding to have a third glass

This post was originally published on www.angelabarnett.me
@angelaMbarnett

--

--

Angela Barnett
The Coffeelicious

Writer. Wig Wearer. Shame Buster. Basically, extremely dangerous.