We Can Have A Beef With Anyone, As Long As It’s A Meal!

Not In My Name, Bangalore

Jesh
The Coffeelicious
4 min readJun 29, 2017

--

There have been days when I wondered how I could make a difference. How could I show my distaste towards the incidents that involved killings of muslims or any one who may/may not have carried a bag of meat? It was a sign when I noticed the event on Facebook ‘Not In My Name’. I jumped into signing up -Well, by signing up I mean I clicked on the ‘going’ option on the Facebook invite.

I was ready to pick my girlfriend up and ride to the protests. If you are oblivious to Bangalore traffic, then allow me to enlighten you. The roads are terribly narrow but most of them own a car because they can-no, they aren’t the tiny ones which would be the wise choice. The dark clouds grew dangerously, and threatened to let loose. What’s worse than Bangalore traffic? Bangalore traffic on rainy days. The cab we were on, took its time trying to beat the other cars and occasionally witnessing blocked roads. With plenty of detours, we were running late for the protests. I would be lying if I said that I didn’t wanna turn back but this was a huge chance to stand my ground. Okay, not that huge but it was a start.

About 45 minutes and a few drizzles later, we finally made it. The Town Hall where it was happening, was a confused mess of placard-holding people, journalists and policemen. A small circle was formed right in-front of the hall where there were like-minded, sane humans displaying their solidarity to the millions watching TV. Reporters and camera lights shrouded them as they spoke for us Indians, for the ideas that held us together as a nation. Circling them were another bunch of people chanting rather quietly and making sure their placards that ranged from ‘Not in my name’, ‘Yes, to love’ to ‘Stop the killing’ made it to the camera.

Unfortunately, there was another crowd from within the hall with cheers as well, and only then it became clear why the police were there. I was proud when I first saw the policemen, giving us the security to do our thing, but my pride deflated soon after. There were posters of south Indian actors at the steps of the Town Hall. Another event was about to take place for a movie, and a couple of south Indian movie stars were on their way. The police were determined to send us away like sheep. There were people who cared for the movie stars than human lives. Lives that were being wasted away in the name of religion. It did strike a nerve but priorities apparently vary. Everyone loves to turn a blind eye to the disgusting side of the world.

I’m quite certain that the lack of force from the cops was probably because the news channels were there to capture everything being said and done. It was disheartening to see that the protests ended an hour before the scheduled time of 8PM IST.

But we made it and we let the world know that we are not the Hindutva country that is being shown on TV, we are not the mindless human beings that get the limelight, we are here to take the stand with the unfortunate families of the victims, and we will do what it takes to make things right. The murders and lynchings are becoming a common sight every where and we need to stand up and tell them it’s wrong.

A fellow Indian who posed for me.

India was born with secularism in the minds of our forefathers and they fought for every one to live in harmony in this messed up country. No one was above another. We are a mess in a lot of ways but which country isn’t, the difference lies in the choices. Either we continue to be a mess or clean up our act. I’m all in for the latter. As one of the placards read: ‘This cheering ground of butchers is not my country.’ Not in my name.

--

--

Jesh
The Coffeelicious

Speculative fiction author with a love for creating worlds that are both probable and impossible.