No, I Won’t Be Just Fine

Or why is it so hard to get back on your feet once you are broke(n)

Mateja Klaric
The Coffeelicious
Published in
8 min readApr 17, 2017

--

Photo: Quinn The Islander (Pixaby)

I’m writing this in hope that it will make you see how this can indeed happen to anyone, and when and if it does, you’d be extremely lucky to be able to pick up the pieces without external help. If you are left with too little or no help at all, your life will never be the same again.

It is so, so easy to end up being homeless or living off of welfare — below the poverty thresholds in my country.

Which is exactly what happened to me and I want to be open and honest about it instead of pretending that ‘I’m fine.’ I’m not fine and what happened to me is not fine either. It could happen to anyone, one way or another, so let’s for once stop putting the blame on the victims as a way of making ourselves feel better about someone else’s misfortune.

I was laid off, brutally, unlawfully, after over 11 years of work for that company. It was done in a manner that broke me and I came very close to ending up in an institution to recover from a complete breakdown. I underwent 6 months of therapy and keep struggling with anxiety and PTSD.

For 4 years, I’ve been haunted by recurring dreams about my former job and boss. I used to love music, I breathed music, my job and life were all about music, but I…

--

--