Writing a New Habit

Kaleidoscope
2 min readSep 22, 2016

--

To write something everyday. Write something sensible and well structured and not any old meaningless scribble.

I had started off cultivating this new habit in the month of August. I decided to dedicate the month to writing and experimenting with the different styles, types, and manners of writing. It suffices to know that I failed miserably. On certain days picked up the pen itself seemed tedious. Regardless of how I constantly mused on how wonderful and exhilarating it feels to let the creativity flow, I failed to get the task done. For this, blame mental barriers and a highly fueled procrastination habit.

Nevertheless I did get one activity done, and that was the morning journal writing habit. It needn’t make sense what I wrote as long as I was able to get some words on paper. So I somehow managed to get that going.

As the weeks progressed, the mindless activity became cumbersome as I failed to see any purpose there. Since it was the first thing in the morning along with my cup of coffee it was hard to thing of anything well to write. From pages to paragraphs, now I haphazardly scribble in a few sentences. Also I began to notice I wrote nothing new, and everything was repeating. Same complaints, excuses and incapacity to conjure anything new.

Since then I thought to abscond this process and attempt on something more meaningful. Something even worthy being published online.

When it comes to growing new habits I have been rather biting more than I could chew. Putting myself to accomplish great tasks and hence failing in them continuously. So with this writing habit. I decided to start small. So small that I won’t even realize I’ve been putting any effort.

With that in mind I decided for 200 words a day. To pick a topic, a musing, or an event and simply work around 200 words. And I hope to God, I keep up with this.

I tend to write mostly with pen and ink, hand to paper, because I am just old school that way. So there wont but constant updates here on Medium. But if I do feel that any of my writing is worthy, I will surely put it up.

So, here’s to starting another new habit! Bismillah.

--

--

Kaleidoscope

Miss Fahi. For the love of paper and pen I scribble and sketch. I'm here to give a glimpse of this world through my kaleidoscope. Freelance writer. Artist.