You Are Not Alone

Qaaim Goodwin
The Coffeelicious
Published in
2 min readAug 13, 2015

If you know someone who’s depressed, please resolve never to ask them why. Depression isn’t a straightforward response to a bad situation; depression just is, like the weather.

Try to understand the blackness, lethargy, hopelessness, and loneliness they’re going through. Be there for them when they come through the other side. It’s hard to be a friend to someone who’s depressed, but it is one of the kindest, noblest, and best things you will ever do. — Stephen Fry

I took a long hiatus from writing to deal with the crazy situations that life can throw at you. Originally this post was going to focus on depression and the how it affects artists. That isn’t the case because depression spreads all over the world and takes people hostage no matter the race, religion, creed, etc. I have depression and I’ve sought help to dig up its roots that grew over mismanagement of figuring out who I am. It hit me hard over the summer because I no longer wanted to just do freelance and the overwhelming nature of bills doesn’t suddenly stop. Everything felt like it hit a wall when the unthinkable happened on Father’s Day. My brother lost his battle to depression, and I lost a huge chunk of my existence.

In most families or societies the perception is you should never talk about the topic of depression. That has to change especially with the rising correlations of mental problems and people hurting others. Strike down the stigma and open up because in the end a simple chat could be the defining moment in someone’s life.

It could save them.

I have to admit to myself that I lost someone dear to my being and I won’t ever be the same. The what ifs constantly crawling through my mind like a mass of spiders and they don’t stop until their web completely fogs my brain. What helps is pulling myself out of that funk, opening up to my community about this, and teaching others about themselves.

We’re all extremely strong individuals and it would be a complete disservice not to acknowledge that. I understand we are drowned out by bullies, horrible media stories, and cultural obstacles which dictate what we can discuss openly. Let’s break down the molds and begin coming together to help each other. I don’t want anyone else to go through my experience. I’m here to help in any way I can and others are ready to assist.

You don’t have to do this alone.

Links For Help:

Depression Forums

Calm.com

Zenhabits — Depression

--

--

Qaaim Goodwin
The Coffeelicious

Co-Founder/Owner of @luxgoodcreative . Designer/Developer/Father. Don't hesitate to drop a line if you have questions or anything.