2017 Charter Oak Award for Best Historical: Winners & Finalists

The Coil
The Coil
Dec 15, 2017 · 2 min read

Alternating Current announces the winners and finalists of the 2017 Charter Oak Award for Best Historical.

We here at Alternating Current feel that it is highly important to reward our authors with every possible chance for recognition of their fine crafts. We are pleased to announce our winners and finalists for the 2017 Charter Oak Award for Best Historical, honoring the independent press’ best writing on historical topics. The pieces are judged blind by our History and Acquisitions Editors to determine the semifinalist longlist and then a finalist shortlist. The winning and finalist pieces will be published once per month throughout 2018 on The Coil. All winners, finalists, and semifinalists will appear in Footnote #3: A Literary Journal of History, due Winter/Spring 2018. We congratulate these authors on their fine crafts; stay tuned throughout the year to read their pieces.

First Place:

Stacey Balkun
“Baroness Elsa von Freytag Loringhoven & the Fountain”

Second Place:

Kierstin Bridger (Kierstin bridger)
“Red Cross”

Third Place:

Laura Potts


Cynthia Anderson

Stacey Balkun

Sue Blaustein
“Were You There?”

Toby Buckley
“radium girls”

Jon Chaiim McConnell
“Learned in the Old Ways”

Joyce Schmid

Chavonn Williams Shen
“The Ballad of Luella and the Tame Parrot”

Michelle Vider
“By you that made me”

The Coil

Literature to change your lightbulb.

Medium is an open platform where 170 million readers come to find insightful and dynamic thinking. Here, expert and undiscovered voices alike dive into the heart of any topic and bring new ideas to the surface. Learn more

Follow the writers, publications, and topics that matter to you, and you’ll see them on your homepage and in your inbox. Explore

If you have a story to tell, knowledge to share, or a perspective to offer — welcome home. It’s easy and free to post your thinking on any topic. Write on Medium

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store