2018 Luminaire Award for Best Prose: Winners

Photo: Pixabay / Gadini.

Alternating Current announces the winners of the 2018 Luminaire Award for Best Prose.

We here at Alternating Current feel that it is highly important to reward our authors with every possible chance for recognition of their fine crafts. We are pleased to announce our winners for the 2018 Luminaire Award for Best Prose, honoring the independent press’ best prose writing. The pieces are judged blind by our Prose and Acquisitions Editors to determine the semifinalist longlist and then a finalist shortlist. The winning pieces will be published throughout 2018 on The Coil and will appear in our triennial print anthology in late 2019. We congratulate these authors on their fine crafts; stay tuned throughout the year to read their pieces.

First Place:

Hayden Smith
“Rabbit Pie”

Second Place:

Chloe Seim
“At the Seams”

Third Place:

Sean Madden
“How the Lonesome Engine Drivers Pine”

Fourth Place:

Carla Scarano D’Antonio

Fifth Place:

Morgan Christie
“Why Jamaicans Do Not Exist in Fairytales”