Shelfie: Ellis Neilson Shares Her Bookshelf

Coil Shelfies
The Coil
2 min readJul 4, 2018

--

Ellis Neilson defends YA political literature and her interest in the loss of control.

I usually read a lot more nonfiction than this, but I found it intriguing how my interests were aligned across both nonfiction and fiction; I read a lot about the loss of control, or who had it. A friend of mine, who came to my place once, laughed at the fact that I’d been reading Suzanne Collins. He called her books the ‘cheapening of political literature,’ which makes no sense to me.

Originally published on The Spark on 7/29/2015.

--

--

Coil Shelfies
The Coil

Shelfies at The Coil: An Independent Literary Magazine at http://thecoilmag.com. Contact Shelfies Editor Tanner McClelland at shelfies@thecoilmag.com. #CoilMag