translation: clarity

Coil Poetry
The Coil
2 min readDec 10, 2018

--

Poem by Leah Bishop

on listening to Muerdo’s “Claridad” with and without you

We missed the mutiny
when we left the lights off, out
of you slipped demons

to join the fight we didn’t
see as you puffed wind
into me, fueled a trumpet

cutting clarity between
your comings and goings. so much
dolor que me tragiste tu

drowned in oil as you pumped
fuel into me, puffed wind into me,
trumpeted clarity into the

smog: sopla and jazz me, blow
and stab me. we mistook the mutiny
when we left

the music on and the headlights off, out
on the road as you came
and went. tantas cosas you

puffed into me. you blew
wind through me, fueled a trumpet
chiming clearly: si no enciendes

la luz but fuera you said and built
this blaze in me, ignited rebels
blaring in symphony. you came

and went so much, without
taking or leaving any fuel but such
clarity, clarity.

LEAH BISHOP is a student at Hendrix College, graduating in 2018 with a B.A. in Political Economy. After years of songwriting, Leah recently discovered her love for poetry, placing third in the 2017 Southern Literary Festival Poetry Contest. She is from Chapel Hill, North Carolina, and she currently resides in Arkansas.

--

--

Coil Poetry
The Coil

Poetry at The Coil: An Independent Literary Magazine at http://thecoilmag.com. Contact Poetry Editor Lewis J. Phillips at poetry@thecoilmag.com. #CoilMag