The first

José Alves de Castro
The Coin Man
Published in
2 min readDec 15, 2017

- You haven’t aged a day.

- I try to keep in shape. Can I get my things and be on my way?

- You’re a little impatient, for someone who just spent so much time in prison.

- For something that isn’t even a crime anymore. Let’s not forget that.

- Well, culture has changed. Here are your belongings. What are you going to do now?

- Oh, I’m going right back to what I was doing… Lots of unfinished business, you know?

- I see…

- I understand that all of the others were imprisoned as well. Is this correct?

- It is.

- And how long do I have until they come out?

- The sentence was the same for all of you. The next one was caught almost a thousand years after you.

- So I have at least a thousand years on my own, without any of them meddling…

- I guess you do…

- Tell me, do they miss me?

- They don’t even know who you are… Too much time has passed…

- Really…? Well, you know what? I’m not gonna be as nice as last time… And maybe that one they will never forget me again.

- I don’t remember you ever being nice to them…

- Oh, just you wait and see… Things are going to be different. Well, I’m ready to go.

- Tell me… Why are you going back there again?

- Once a God, always a God. Just point me in the right direction and I’ll be off to Earth.

(Become a Patron to get Early Access to Stories and Other Unpublished Material)

--

--

José Alves de Castro
The Coin Man

VP of Engineering by Day, Evil Magician by Night, now writing Science Fiction short stories by Twilight. https://www.patreon.com/CoinManStories