Alumni Highlight: Fu-Chi Shih, Class of 2017

By Maya Rector

--

Fu-Chi Shih recently graduated in the spring of 2017 with an MEng degree in Industrial Engineering and Operations Research (IEOR). She currently works as a customer and product analyst at Adobe where she utilizes data analytics from customer usage in order to improve products. She wants to let current MEng students know to enjoy their time as students and fully take in the learning process.

Do you have any advice for current Berkeley MEng students?

Enjoy your time as a student. Before I came to Berkeley, I had four years of work experience. I was very glad I got a chance to be a student again. I could explore whatever I liked and my only job was learning.

What did you do after graduation?

I had a two-month vacation with my family and then joined Adobe in early July of 2017.

What are you currently working on?

I am working as a Customer and Product Analyst at Adobe. In this position, I utilize data analytics tools and methods to analyze customer profile and usage data in order to help Adobe’s product team improve products.

What do you miss about being a student at the Fung Institute?

Walking across campus from north to south and heading to the gym after classes.

What have you found most rewarding about the work you’re currently doing?
I can drive direct impacts on the organizations and products I am working with. It gives me significant satisfaction when deriving insights from analyzing data and helping others to make more informed decisions.

How has the Berkeley MEng program helped you prepare for entering the field you’re currently in?
The mock interview practice with the Fung Institute helped me a lot! I utilized many of their mock interview opportunities to prepare for behavioral questions in my real-life interview.

Do you have any advice for being a woman in the field, and has that affected you at all (positively or negatively)?

Keep pushing yourself and step out of your comfort zone. This belief helped me switch my career path to what I really enjoy. I believe that when there is a will, there is a way. You just need to trust in something and listen to your heart.

Fun fact about yourself :)

I like cooking as well as working out. The two things I miss the most in Berkeley are living in the UC Village (great kitchen) and taking the Core Blast class in RSF. That class is really awesome — perfect way to relieve your stress while job hunting!

--

--

Berkeley Master of Engineering
Berkeley Master of Engineering

Master of Engineering at UC Berkeley with a focus on leadership. Learn more about the program through our publication.