Staff Highlight: Megan Braverman

By Dione Rivera

--

In our Staff Highlight series, a staff member at the Fung Institute for Engineering Leadership shares insights about their job search experience and career journey with Master of Engineering (MEng) students and Fung Fellows.

This feature focuses on Megan Braverman, Student Services & Admissions Advisor.

What was the best career advice you received?

Sometimes you learn more about what you want by figuring out what you don’t want — and that’s okay! Not every position will be fulfilling but it will help you narrow your search to find a role that works for you.

What was your most memorable job search experience (story)?

The most memorable part of my job search experience was receiving my first job offer during my senior year. After what felt like endless applications and interviews, when I was finally offered a position I felt so hopeful, proud, and exhausted! I called my parents to share the news, and then took a long nap.

When did you realize your Aha Moment in your career?

My most “Aha Moment” was when I realized that I wanted to pursue higher education student services as a career. I worked in an advising office as an undergraduate mostly to earn some income, but realized how much I liked working with students and staff alike. After an unrelated internship where I felt utterly unfulfilled, I knew that pursuing student services was the best option for me.

In retrospect, what is the career advice you would like to give to our MEng cohort?

Never stop exploring your role or your field! Tap into resources or communities that allow you to learn and grow beyond what may be outlined in a job description.

Contact Megan at mbraverman@berkeley.edu.

Stay up to date with the Fung Institute on Facebook | Twitter | Instagram!

--

--

Berkeley Master of Engineering
Berkeley Master of Engineering

Master of Engineering at UC Berkeley with a focus on leadership. Learn more about the program through our publication.