The Collider Staff

Meet the team that helps The Collider network accomplish its mission of advancing climate solutions.

The Collider
The Collider Blog
6 min readMay 13, 2020

--

Mary Spivey, Community Manager

Mary Spivey, Community Manager at The Collider
Mary snorkeling in Belize. Photo courtesy Mary Spivey.

1. What attracted you to The Collider?

The opportunity to promote climate change awareness and advance solutions. I’d recently moved from a position in Minnesota where I engaged with the public on potential effects of a changing climate. I really enjoyed the discussions and seeing people make the connections between what they loved about Minnesota and ways a warming climate could result in a different future for the state. The Collider offered me an opportunity to continue this work.

2. What is your favorite part about working at The Collider?

The regular interactions with our passionate, engaging and often hilarious members make each day rewarding. What sustains my daily energy and motivation is working with the intelligent and productive Collider staff, currently composed of three recent UNC-Asheville graduates. The future will soon be in their hands, and if the rest of their generation bulldogs challenges like these three, the future is bright indeed.

3. Why are you interested in climate change?

Climate change is a function of natural processes put into motion by the level of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere. Regardless of how the gases came to be in the atmosphere, the physical behavior of molecules dictate that more heat-trapping gases in the atmosphere equal a warmer atmosphere. I like the simplicity of the formula. Climate change is also a great unifier in that everyone on Earth is affected. And while many of us can expect to develop resilience to the conditions brought by a warming climate, there are more of us who, for multiple reasons, will suffer from those same conditions. I am compelled to do my small part to empower vulnerable populations and ensure all can survive and thrive in a changing climate.

4. What do you do for fun when you’re not working?

Explore our amazing planet on foot, with fins, with a paddle or on horseback; experience the magic of a vegetable garden and raising chickens; and with COVID-19, currently spending tons of time zooming with our children and friends!

Mickey Snowdon, Communications Liaison

Mickey Snowdon, Communications Liaison at The Collider
Mickey at Wolfwood Refuge outside of Durango, Colorado. Photo courtesy Mickey Snowdon.
  1. What attracted you to The Collider?

I was connected to The Collider via the former director of UNC Asheville’s Master of Liberal Arts and Sciences program, Gerard Voos, who introduced me to UNCA’s National Environmental Modeling and Analysis Center’s (NEMAC) lead science editor, Nina Hall. I was looking for a position where my work would be meaningful and touch more than just individual human lives. I had been working as an Adventure Therapy Mentor, and while that position was extremely rewarding on a personal level, I knew that I wanted to address the biggest issue of our time — climate change.

2. What is your favorite part about working at The Collider?

About 80–90% of the time I get to do what I love best —communicate climate issues to lay and expert audiences. I love the energy in The Collider’s network. Someone is always working on a project that is directly in line with my passion, and they are always more than happy to discuss their work with me. I have learned so much about environmental, economic, social, and political issues while working at The Collider, and because of this I have grown immensely as a human. My co-staff are also incredibly strong and amazing individuals, and working with them has been a huge part of my personal and professional development.

3. Why are you interested in climate change?

Climate change is the greatest threat to the world, but many people don’t understand it, let alone want to take action against it. The reason I’ve chosen to focus all of my efforts on climate change is because I believe that in mitigating, adapting, and building resilience to climate change, we can create a more just, equitable, and healthy world. Solving climate change in a holistic manner has the wonderful side-effect of creating a better future for everyone.

4. What do you do for fun when you’re not working?

I love to hike, rock climb, run, practice yoga, read, and listen to music. Every weekend a group of friends and I try to hike a new trail in WNC. I’m so grateful to live in a place that has such extensive access to outdoor recreation, and I hope to do a lot of camping this summer.

Miles Kish, Member Coordinator

Miles in Budapest, Hungary. Photo courtesy Miles Kish.
  1. What attracted you to The Collider?

I was really attracted to the mission of the space, as well as the people I met there. Climate change was and remains a real concern of mine, and I had been looking for ways to connect these important issues with my own life.

2. What is your favorite part about working at The Collider?

I think that the community that’s been created at The Collider not only makes it a great place to work, but it also imbues a level of purpose to the important work that’s going on up here. There’s a clear sense that people are working here for a reason, and I find that I respond very positively to that sort of community.

3. Why are you interested in climate change?

Whether we like it or not, Climate Change is a deadly threat to all of us, and we’re already going to feel climate impacts for the remainder of my lifetime at a minimum. As a species, we’ve been able to accomplish incredible things when we put our minds to it, and I’m confident that reducing our ecological effects are no exception. I’d love to give a better world to my children, and I can’t see that happening unless we devote enormous time and resources to these issues.

4. What do you do for fun when you’re not working?

I try to get out of the city when I can to hike or camp, and when I’m not doing that, I’m either watching soccer or playing it. I’m also the proud owner of a slowly-growing science fiction bookshelf, particularly during COVID-19 quarantine.

Megan Odom, Events Manager

Megan Odom, Events Manager at The Collider
Megan hiking in Quito, Ecuador. Photo courtesy Megan Odom.

1. What attracted you to The Collider?

The opportunity to work with a non-profit that’s focus aligns with my personal beliefs, and the possibility of personal growth through skills development.

2. What is your favorite part about working at The Collider?

The people are easily the best part of working at The Collider because Collider members and staff are very kind and inviting individuals. I’m always learning something new or laughing by the end of every conversation. I’m very grateful to be a part of this community.

3. Why are you interested in climate change?

My interest in climate change stems from necessity; climate change is one of the most significant issues facing the world today, and it can only be solved through the collective work of many. It is going to affect low-income and marginalized communities disproportionately, and we already see its effects with warmer and more extreme weather patterns. If there is a lack of action now, then there is little to no hope for future generations. I feel it is our duty to act now while we still can make a difference in whatever way we can.

4. What do you do for fun when you’re not working?

I enjoy spending time with my friends, practicing yoga, reading a good book, or playing with my pup, Cooper.

--

--

The Collider
The Collider Blog

A nonprofit member network providing climate solutions. | Based in Asheville, NC | TheCollider.org