International Law to Make inter-culture Marriages Mandatory

A brief about the last story that I covered as a journalist

Rupen Paul
The Comic Curry
3 min readJul 5, 2018

--

Photo by sasan rashtipour on Unsplash

In the wake of many families not supporting marriages among people from different communities, a new law attempts to change this by legitimising attraction. Many people left their homes early in that morning, without taking a shower because there was no water from the supply board, without eating breakfast because food rates have shot up, without much sleep due to rampant power cuts and took to the streets protesting this new mandate that allows for more secularism. I managed to read a few banners that the protesters carried and they were filled with rather blunt messages — “give us the freedom to be narrow minded”, “Give communal-ism a chance”, “make family fights… not peace”.

I spoke to a senior 85 year old protester, asking why this law was a threat and he only said, “families take time adjusting to new cultures and old people don’t have much time on this earth to adjust”. When I argued telling him that old people now live longer lives and have learnt to adapt to technology he asked me to ‘Stop talking rubbish’, while he took a selfie and added it to his Instagram story.

Until now, if you saw someone you liked and were attracted to, that person better be from the same religion, economic status, country, sub-region and road. Apart from these few conditions you can marry whoever you want. I spoke to Mrs. Barbara Broadmindy, spokesperson of human equality, Iceland via Snapchat and asked her what she thought of the new law. She said: “If we closely observe, when we find ourselves in a hospital ward, we all want the same things out of life — health, a chance to be with our families a little longer and a few more days to spend in this beautiful universe. We are all the same and there is no difference between us. If we take the effort we all can cooperate with each other better and live better lives.” I read this but failed to be inspired… so I reached out for some background music and then re-read. It felt inspirational.

My only doubt being, why this was being made a mandate? It makes sense in a democracy that you should be allowed to marry whoever you want [from your culture or not], but why is this law being made a mandate that I have to marry only someone from outside my culture? I asked another protester why he felt this compulsory imposition was wrong and he said “Any mandate is wrong. We are free people, no one can force you to marry someone… except your family.”

I still didn’t get all the answers I needed. I knew people should be allowed to marry whoever they want and should not be forced into marrying people that the government decides but this law was still harsh. So I asked one final person, my conservative-religious-grand-father if there was any way a couple from the same culture can be together, now that this mandate for compulsory inter-culture marriages might be passed and he gave a rather progressive solution —“Inter culture marriages and mandatory. If you want to be with someone from the same culture without being a criminal, don’t get married. Just Live In.”

I was more confused than ever. This was the last story that I covered as a journalist. I couldn’t take it anymore. I quit my journalistic career. I now sit and write blogs about dogs. I feel a lot better.

Get on our network, we recommend humor. Click Here.
Follow Rupen Paul’s Podcast On SoundCloud. Click Here.

Thanks for reading. TheComicCurryBlog publishes four blogs a week, make sure to follow us. Donate to us, for a good cause (food!)

--

--

Rupen Paul
The Comic Curry

Stand up Comedian, podcast host and writer. I am a grump who hates grumpy people.