Back Home in the 330

Cleveland…You’re Welcome!

Jess Kaisk
8 min readJul 18, 2016

So I’ve been back in Ohio for about 9 months now, and the changes are staggering. From a new hospital and shopping center built in an old farm field in Green, to some amazing culture and arts growth downtown, I’m a happy camper to be back. A shout out to Chris Horne, who runs the Devil Strip, a newspaper that specializes in arts and culture, to Rachel Whinnery who reminds everyone why Akron is the place to be: Thank you!

Here are my top ten reasons for loving Akron…tomorrow I might have another 10!

  1. Artisan Coffee
Artisan Coffee Akron

Okay, this building has been everything from a restaurant, a bar, and a penny slot gambling hub. I moved back and saw this gem right up the street from my house and flipped! I fell in love instantly! From the kick ass baked goods, seriously try eating only one peanut butter cookie, to the ambiance, this is the place to be on the outskirts of Akron. Downtown can’t laugh at us anymore, we have Artisan! Now if only it picked Springfield instead of Ellet! I wont let a high school rivalry get in the way of enjoying their scrumptious salads, sandwiches, and of course, the cooofffffeeeee! Check out more here.

2. The University of Akron

Good ol’ University of Akron

Okay, now here’s the deal. The Devil Strip did a fantastic job of covering all the drama of the last two years from this place. If I knew a petition I wrote, in frustration and anger over what the last president mistakenly thought was a good idea, was going to take off the way it did I’d tell you that was nuts. But it did, and the city and faculty gathered together to take action! Yes, the Scar did a bang up job of being horrible, and yes, he screwed a lot of crap up, but its rebounding. Why? Because that is what the Rubber City does, it rebounds, rebuilds, and keeps moving for the sake of progress. The University of Akron is the hub of downtown. It has done a fantastic job of revitalizing slagging areas of the city, provided some great opportunities for locals, and a great place for students and faculty alike. I highly recommend spending time there. Grab a coffee, walk around, and go see the path of blossom trees by the College of Arts & Sciences…its a peaceful spot.

3. Highland Square Free Library

Amazing

This is by far my favorite thing I discovered when I moved back. I lived in this neighborhood in college, and used to leave books on the coffee tables in Angel Falls Cafe. So when I saw that an actual free library made it to the neighborhood I was very excited! I like to go to Buckeye Bookstore and get their 25–50 cent books and put them in there!

4. Buckeye Bookstore

best hidden gem in town

If you haven’t been here fellow book lovers, you gotta go! Its a little hidden secret of Akron off Britain Rd towards Six Corners, and if you drive too fast you will miss it. You walk in and there’s stacks, and stacks, and piles of treasure, I mean books…same thing right?! Its family run, and has been in business since 1988! Here’s their little bio from Facebook:

We have been selling books since 1988 and have been in our present location since 1991. Our inventory includes more than 60,000 hardcover/softcover volumes and about 15,000 mass market paperbacks. While our inventory is all secondhand, a large percentage of our books are in like new condition. We have thousands of out-of-print books as well as many very recent ones. Although our inventory is general in nature, we maintain an emphasis on modern first editions.

So go there, see the books, feel the books, take the books home after purchase! After all, shopping locally, independent stores is good for the economy!

5. Ely Road Boutique

Owner Suzie in her awesome shop!

Now if you happen to love quirky, different clothes, this is your mecca. This gem tucked by Musica and Mocha Maiden is fabulous! Just like its owner Suzie! I stumbled in here one day and felt so comfortable in the shop I could stay for hours, not to mention Suzie is absolutely a doll as well as a wonderful conversationalist. She has an amazing eye for fashion, stating that its a form of art, which I absolutely agree, and is always quick to help offer suggestions and options while shopping. She even has wine on Fridays for your shopping entertainment! Check out more from her here.

6. Springfield Rock the Lake

This is a little township within Akron, its forgotten, snubbed, and pushed aside, but this is home. I grew up in this spot of Akron, and it is slowly getting better and better over time. With the new Springfield Bog and Lauer Parks, a new walking trail, and greater community involvement, this neighborhood is growing! It has these fantastic concerts on Friday’s by the lake, and hosts musicians that play everything from rock and roll, jazz, country, blues, and cover bands. It isn’t as big as Lock 3, but it is just as good, and laid back. Feel free to bring your fishing poles too if your into that! Check out more here.

7. The Lil Yoga Shop

ahhhhhh

Before moving back I got into contact with a great lady named Danielle, who is a yoga teacher and founder of The Akron Yoga Project. I was anxious to leave behind my yoga studio in NY because I loved it, and Sandy the owner felt like a spirit buddy that I hated to leave, so I was searching for a new studio. Now, I haven’t made it to many classes because of work, but this place, is great. It has a peaceful vibe when you walk through the door, and the space is well laid out, open, and most importantly, clean and negative vibe free. As a yoga teacher I’ve been to a lot of yoga studios, from Buffalo, Rochester, Ithaca, the Catskills, Geneva, Cleveland, and Akron. I’ve met some amazing teachers, and some who were in it for only the money and that “image” vibe you get when people are not sincere. Now I’m far from perfect, but this place is by far the best genuine studio I’ve been in other than Grounded by Yoga in NY. Go there. Take a class. Fall in love. Check it out here.

8. The Devil Strip

Ohhh yeah!

This is awesome. There is nothing I love better than an independent anything. Business, newspaper, artists, magazine…anything. If you want to know what is what in Akron, this is where you go. From music, art, food, funnies, they know about it, and know where to go. The people at The Devil Strip have it all on lock down, and are so upbeat and positive you look forward to hearing what they have to say. Not only that, but the coverage of The UA fiasco was phenomenal, and I found myself looking forward to Chris’ contributions while living in NY as well as back here in Akron. Check it out here.

9. Murals…yes, plural.

I’m just going to post the photos, because I challenge you to see all of them if you’re out and about town. They are all amazing, all support Akron and enhancement of the arts, and are plain beautiful. If you take photos, gotta use the #330. There are many more than this, and they surprise you every time you come across them. They brighten otherwise boring spaces, and bring a youthful joy to the city.

10. Bluff Blue Door Gallery

From my Instagram account @aaylak305

Ok, so I randomly stumbled here. Through mutual digital space friends I heard of this poetry reading going on here, and decided to shove my social anxiety to the back and go. Boy am I glad I did. I didn’t really talk to anyone, except for a really nice gentleman Mike and his wife Yoly, who live there. They were gracious, funny, and relaxing people to be around. Its a beautifully calming space, perched on the top of a hill with a killer sunset view, sculpture pieces here and there, a blue door (obviously), and a cute camper trailer propped open in the back yard. The Big Beautiful Mess poetry reading was, well, beautiful, and so was the gallery. From the various mediums shown, it was nice to wander in, and watch the trolley roll by. Go the next time there’s an event…definitely worth your time.

Well that’s today’s top 10. I don’t know if I’ll write another one, but I was just inspired to do one today. What is your favorite Akron spot?

Oh, and the Cleveland you’re welcome? We gave them Lebron James ;) Akron Witnessed First.

--

--