“The Common Prayer” — Episode 15

Torch Legacy Serials
The Common Prayer

--

To the glory of thy holy name. Amen.

Chapter 43
Camille and Carlton Henderson

Camille and Carlton Henderson, having made a new commitment to be open with each other, made Carl Jr. their priority. Warmth radiated around Camille each time she held him, but that warmth was often laced with an annoying thought.

“I’ve heard of adopted children getting upset after finding out that one or both of their parents are not their real parents. How will I handle this when he gets older and finds out I’m not his real mother?” Camille confided in Zena. “Any advice?”

Zena laughed. “Don’t you think it’s way too early to be worrying about that? Think positive. That may never come up.”

“But what if it does come up?”

“Then you just tell him the truth. Besides, Carlton is the one you should be discussing this with,” Zena said.

“Yeah. You’re right.”

Later that evening, as Camille and her husband played with Carl Jr., Camille voiced her concern to him.

“I wouldn’t worry about that, but if it bothers you, my best advice to you is to play it by ear; ask God to let you know when to tell him,” Carlton said. “Or we could just go ahead and tell him when he reaches about five or six years old. I think he’ll be able to understand it then.”

“Do you think he’ll reject me once he finds out who his mother is and especially about her death?”

Carlton sighed. “I really believe you’re worrying about nothing. It’s not like Sara is still alive. If you just love him like he’s your own, that thought will never cross his mind. And if he hears it from someone before we tell him, we’ll just have to tell him the truth. Now, what else is bothering you?”

“Nothing else.”

“Good, because Thanksgiving is just around the corner and I want it to be a truly enjoyable day,” Carlton said tickling Carl Jr.

____________________________________

The week before Thanksgiving, Mrs. Jenkins, Sara’s mother, fell into a state of depression mixed with anger.

“What are you so disheartened about?” her husband asked. “This is the Thanksgiving season, your favorite holiday. You can’t be thankful and depressed at the same time. And if you don’t hurry and go shopping all the stores are going to be out of turkeys and cranberry sauce,” he said taking her by the waist and spinning her around.

“They might as well be because I’m not cooking anything special this year,” his wife said despondently.

“Well, why not? I have to eat my turkey, too.” He chuckled, but his wife gave him an I’m-not-playing look.

“Baby, is this about Sara?” he asked embracing her. He slid his hand up and down her back. “Donna, Sara’s gone. She’s dead. We are not going to see her anymore down here on this earth. There won’t be any more holidays with her.”

“I just feel like a part of me went with her to the grave,” Mrs. Jenkins said. “She was my life.”

“I know you loved her,” her husband said tightening his arms around her. “I loved her too, and I miss her. Not a day has gone by that I haven’t thought about her.”

“She was supposed to have spent Thanksgiving with us — her and Carl Jr. I have not even heard from Carlton since the funeral. He doesn’t even have the decency to bring my grand-baby over to visit. That’s all I have left of Sara.”

“Now, now, Donna, don’t go pointing fingers now,” her husband said. “I’m sure he and his wife need time to adjust to having Carl Jr. with them. Remember how much adjusting we had to do when Sara was born. Give them more time.”

“How much more time? It’s been a little over a month now. I want to see my grand-baby.”

“They gave us their number so it’s not like they’re trying to hide from us. Maybe they’re waiting for us to call first. Why don’t you go call them now? They might be open to joining us for Thanksgiving dinner.” Detecting anger in his wife’s silence, Mr. Jenkins said, “On second thought, I’ll call them.”

“I’ve invited them over for Sunday dinner,” her husband said after getting off the phone with Carlton. Receiving no response from his wife, he asked, “What’s the matter now?”

“Is she coming?”

“She?”

“Yes. His wife.”

“Of course. They’re married, aren’t they?” Sighing deeply, he said, “Donna, we all know you’re hurting, but this is no excuse for you to harbor any negative feelings towards she whose name happens to be Camille. We just have to accept things the way they are now. Be strong for Carl Jr.’s sake. Be nice to Camille; she’s in an awkward position too.”

___________________________________

“Thank you both for coming,” Mr. Jenkins greeted Carlton and Camille. “Come here, big man,” he said taking Carl Jr. “Come to grand-daddy.”

The mealtime was pleasant though a little tense. Mrs. Jenkins held Carl Jr. the entire time. She did not say much but threw scrutinizing glances at Camille every now and then. Camille felt out of place but remained cheerful for her husband’s sake. She did not want to add to an already uncomfortable situation.

After the meal, they went to the living room. Unable to control her emotions any longer, tears started to trickle down Mrs. Jenkins’ cheeks.

“Please excuse my wife,” Mr. Jenkins said, “but this time of the year is difficult for her especially with Sara not here to join us, and —”

Camille nodded as she left her husband’s side to place an arm around Mrs. Jenkins. “You’re more than welcome to visit with Carl Jr. any time,” she said.

Mrs. Jenkins’ shoulders trembled as she looked up at Carlton. “Why couldn’t you have just married Sara? Then she would still be here. Was she that bad of a person? I tried to raise her right.”

Carlton pressed his lips together. He looked from Mr. Jenkins back to Mrs. Jenkins. “I’m sorry for causing you this pain,” he said softly. “I promise you we’ll take good care of Carl Jr, and he will be a part of your life.”

Mr. Jenkins placed his arm around his wife as Camille took the baby from her. He, too, wished Sara was there. But I have to remain strong for my wife’s sake, he consoled himself.

Carlton felt it was time for them to leave.

“Give her more time to accept Sara’s death,” Mr. Jenkins said as he walked them to the door. “I really appreciate you both coming over for dinner.”

After securing Carl Jr. in his car seat, Camille said. “Hold on for a minute.” She hurried back to the Jenkins’ front door where Mr. Jenkins was still waiting to see them off.

“We’ll be having Thanksgiving at Carlton’s parents’ home. My parents will be there as well. You’re both welcome to join us,” Camille said with a smile.

“Thanks so much for the invitation,” Mr. Jenkins said giving Camille a hug. “We will certainly consider it, but if we don’t make it, I’m sure you’ll understand.”

“That was very nice of you,” Carlton said to his wife as they drove off.

“I could have gotten upset at her for blaming you and throwing me in the mix and kept Carl Jr. from her,” Camille said. “But as long as you and I are together, we can face whoever or whatever comes our way, in Christian love.”

Chapter 44
Barry and Cecelia Rubik

Barry Rubik with his wife, Cecelia, settled into their new roles as Directors of Evangelism and Missionary Outreach Ministry at his church. They had no doubt that they were in God’s perfect will.

“Here you go,” Cecelia said handing her husband a letter. “Another one. The second in less than two weeks. They need you, Barry; they can’t function without you.”

Barry chuckled. “I don’t even have to open this one up. I guess the college is still without a president,” he said opening the letter up anyway. He let out a low whistle. “Cecelia, they want me back as the school’s president so badly, they are willing to pay me twice what they were paying me before.”

Cecelia chuckled. “Little do they know, more money does not interest us.”

“If they only knew what I went through. You can bet I won’t ignore God again. It’s too high a price to pay.”

Barry continued working at the YMCA four days each week as a volunteer. He tutored the boys under his care helping them to build up their proficiency in English and reading comprehension. He started a Bible study class. A number of the boys stayed behind for the study, but one stood out to him — Carlos Lopez. He took note of the avid interest Carlos showed in the Bible lesson — devouring every word Barry shared with the attendees.

“Carlos, I’m so glad you can come to the Bible class,” he said.

“Mr. Barry,” Carlos said one evening after everyone had left, “if everything you say about this Jesus is true, then I want to be His friend, too.”

Barry gladly shared with Carlos how to be Jesus’ friend. “Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ and you will be saved.”

Carlos stayed behind for the Bible class the following week, but, after that, he disappeared for a month. Not only did he not attend the Bible class, but he did not attend the YMCA meetings. Out of concern, Barry visited the home where Carlos lived with his parents, an older sister, and his baby brother.

“My father won’t allow me to come,” Carlos said. “I was telling my mother how I asked Jesus to be my friend and telling her all that you’ve been teaching, and I guess she told him. They’re both atheists and don’t want me to believe in this. I did not listen to him and came the next week after I asked Jesus to be my friend, and he … well … he slapped me and told me never to go to your studies. Here he comes. I should go inside.”

Barry waited by the front door for Carlos’ father. After introducing himself, the father’s warm greeting turned cold.

“No. I do not want him to go. You teach him wrong,” Mr. Lopez said.

“What wrong have I taught him?” Barry asked. “I have only shared with him how that Jesus died for his sins, but He rose from the dead and is now in Heaven preparing a home for those who believe in Him. Jesus will give you a life of peace if you let Him.”

“Hogwash. God has never done anything but cause me heartache,” Mr. Lopez said. “If He is so good, why did He take away my little girl from me? He did not even give me one month with her. SIDS the doctor told me. Sudden Infant Death Syndrome. It was sudden. God suddenly took her from me and my wife before we had a chance to enjoy her. I don’t want my son coming to your class anymore.” He entered his house and slammed the door behind him.

Barry returned to his car. He sat a minute just looking at the house. Carlos waved to him from his bedroom window. Barry tooted his horn as he backed out the driveway. Now what words of comfort can one offer to soothe that hurting father and mother?

“We can only pray for them,” Cecelia had told him.

Carlos turned up for YMCA meeting the following week and wanted to stay behind for the Bible class.

“No. I cannot allow you to. That would go against your father’s wishes,” Barry said. He showed Carlos in the Bible where it instructs children to obey their parents. “God will bless you for doing so. I want you to go home and be obedient to your parents, and pray for them, especially your father. Pray that they would receive Jesus as their friend as you have.” Barry gave Carlos a New Testament. “Read this every day and ask God for wisdom. If you have any questions, you can ask me when you come for the regular YMCA meetings. We don’t want to mess up a good thing now.”

“Okay, Mr. Barry,” Carlos said reluctantly.

“I’ll be praying for God to touch your father’s heart.”

“This is what makes delivering the Gospel and sharing God’s Word with others so challenging,” Barry shared with his wife. “You never know who God is going to send your way and what barriers need to be broken down before they call on Jesus.”

Chapter 45
Raina and Craig Barrington

A month had passed since Raina last heard from Craig. She threw all her energy into the “Just Say No” campaign taking opportunities to visit stores, malls, and other places of business to make sure no one missed an opportunity to add their names to the petition.

“You should slow down,” her mother said after she came home exhausted late one evening.

“I will get some rest after my meeting with the school board,” Raina said as she sat down to eat. “How did Brandon do this evening?”

“He keeps asking when he can see his father. Have you decided yet when you are going to tell him the reason he cannot see Craig?” her mother asked.

“I’ve been thinking about it and praying about it,” Raina said. “It’s not going to be easy. I mean, how do you tell a six-year-old his father is a homosexual?”

Her mother did not know what to say. After Raina finished eating, she went to check on Brandon. Dear God, You have to bring us both through this. Protect Brandon, please. She bent down and kissed her son on the forehead.

“Mom,” Brandon said stirring in his sleep.

“Yes, I’m here.”

“Is Dad with you?”

“Not tonight, Brandon.”

“When can I see him. He’s been gone too long.”

Raina swallowed. “Soon, Brandon.”

On their way to school the following morning, Raina’s phone rang. After seeing who the caller was, she thought not to answer it, but then changed her mind. “Answer that for me, please. It’s a surprise.”

“Dad!” Brandon said after his father identified himself. “I miss you, Dad. Are you coming to Grandma’s this evening? I need you to show me how to do some more stuff on the computer … Okay … I will … I love you, Dad.”

Brandon handed the phone to his mother. “Dad wants to talk with you.”

“Thank you,” Raina said. Her heart winced as she saw the big grin on her son’s face. “Hello, Craig.”

“Hello, Raina. It’s been a while. How have you been doing?”

“Quite fine,” Raina said brusquely. “And you?”

“I’ve been missing you and Brandon. When can I see him?”

Raina paused.

“Craig, I want you to see him; I want you to be a father to him, but how can I be sure you won’t lead him into that ungodliness. I would never forgive myself if that were to happen when I could have prevented it.”

“Raina, he’s my son — conceived in marriage. I would never do anything to hurt him. You of all people know that. You’ve been around us and seen me interact with him since his birth.”

“Try to understand my position,” Raina said.

“And you try to understand mine,” Craig said. “I love my son very much, and what happened to me as a boy I would never do to my son. The man who did this to me took the life out of me. He stole my innocence. I lost all desire to live … until I met you. It’s something that’s not easy to get out of once it gets a hold of you.

“I am fighting two battles,” he continued. “I want you and my son back in my life, but at the same time, there is a strong pull toward this other way of living. Please let me at least see my son. You have my word: I will not hurt him. And as long as I can see him regularly, he can stay with you.”

Raina sighed. “Craig, I’m sorry. But you’ve decided not to change your behavior so there is no need for you to keep contacting us. Our divorce is almost finalized and Brandon and I have to move forward with our lives without you. Now if ever you decide to permanently get things right with God, I will be willing to try and work things out between us again; but for now, our relationship is over. Besides that, it’s not just you influencing my son in a negative way; I am concerned about those nasty homosexual people that you hang around.”

Raina ended the call.

“What do you think?” Raina asked Jasmine during their morning break after sharing what she had told Craig.

“I think you did the right thing,” Jasmine said. “You forgave him and gave him a chance to get his life straight and he chose not to do so. You have to move on, and I know God will be with you. By the way, the news just came in that the county school board ruled in your favor.”

“All my hard work was worth it,” Raina said. “Our classrooms at the McAllen Elementary School of the Future will be free of homosexual teachers indoctrinating our children. God made a clear distinction between the male and the female genders — no in-between.”

“He certainly did,” Aaron said whisking into the teachers’ lounge. “Congratulations, Mrs. Raina Barrington.”

Chapter 46
Larron and Laverne Clarke

The Clarke family enjoyed a delicious breakfast together the next morning. Laverne left to drop Denise off at the college and LaJoi at the high school. She then headed to the Children and Family Services office full of joy and a peace she could not explain.

“What are your plans going forward?” Larron asked Lincoln as they got ready to leave the house.

“I did a lot of thinking last night,” Lincoln said, “and I think it’s best if I go ahead on to college.”

“What do you want to major in?”

“That I’m not sure of,” Lincoln said. “Maybe take some general courses starting out.”

“Be thinking about it. Since you don’t have your car, let me drop you off at your job and be sure to give me a call if anything comes up. By the way, what were you reading in the Bible last night when I stopped in your room?”

“It’s weird, Dad, but I was reading the book of Proverbs.”

“Why is that weird?” Larron asked.

“You’ve always told us to read Proverbs and you’ve even read portions of it to us. I always stubbornly resisted that book because it convicted me every time I heard it. I wanted to go my own way, but just about every verse tells me not to go my own way.”

“So what are you going to do about the book of Proverbs now?”

“Definitely, obey it. I don’t understand it all, but I’ll do that which I understand.”

“You do that and not only will God bless you, but your mother and I will be proud of you,” Larron said. “Moving forward, do you plan on moving back in with your friends?”

“I really haven’t given it much thought; but I will say this: being on your own makes you grow up real fast — you know — makes you take life more seriously when you know your parents aren’t around to step in.” Lincoln then chuckled. “Living on your own makes you stretch a dollar much farther than you thought it could go.”

Larron laughed. “It sure does, doesn’t it? You take your time. Your mother and I have no problems with you moving out to be on your own. I think you are a little young, but it’s up to you. At the same time, you’re welcome to camp out with us as long as is necessary.”

“I’d love to hang around a bit longer. I don’t think I’m quite ready to take on the world yet.”

Father and son laughed.

_____________________________________

Denise had an exceptionally great day.

“Mrs. Clarke, I could not have asked for a more beautiful day — just to know that I am no longer believing the devil’s lie that people will not accept me for me. The greatest joy of all is knowing that God loves me just as I am.”

“We are so happy for you, Denise. Always remember that. He made you this way because He wants you to do a great work for Him that no one else can do,” Laverne shared with her.

Denise thought about Laverne’s words.

“That’s true,” Larron said. “I don’t know how much you know of the prophet Jeremiah, but when he became an adult, God told him He was ready to use him. Jeremiah started to make all kinds of excuses. He told God he could not speak. But God told him, ‘I formed you in your mother’s belly and before you were born I ordained you to be a prophet.’ Then God touched his mouth and told him, ‘You shall speak the very words I will tell you.’”

“What did he mean when he said he could not speak?” LaJoi asked.

“I’m not for sure. Maybe he stuttered. Maybe he was shy. Maybe he was not educated,” Larron said.

“God has a special job set aside for all of us,” Laverne said.

“Mmm. I wonder what my special job may be,” Denise said quietly.

“I know you have a kind heart, and you seem to converse easily with those who have some physical handicap — especially children,” Laverne shared with her. “You’re also great with animals.”

Denise smiled. “That reminds me, I need to go visit Boz at the zoo. He’s probably wondering if I have forgotten him.”

“We can all make it a family day and stop by on Saturday,” Laverne suggested after explaining to the family who Boz was.

“I sure wish Mrs. Whitaker was here. She’d be very happy to know I’m going to work with children just like she did,” Denise said.

“Mom, I think I want to go into social services like you. I think it’s fun helping other people,” LaJoi said.

“There’s no time like now to get started. You can start doing volunteer work with me. You’re welcome to join us, Denise.”

“Don’t leave me out,” Lincoln piped in. “Dad, I’ve thought about this all day. I figured that since I’m good at fixing things, I’m thinking of going into engineering.”

“Wonderful,” Larron said.

As the family finished their meal and each engaged in their own thoughts, Larron said, “You know, God placed us here to make a difference in the lives of others in a positive way. From our conversation tonight, I’d say we’re all on the right path. Amen?”

“Amen!” the others replied in unison.

THE COMMON PRAYER

Almighty and most merciful Father;

We have erred, and strayed from thy ways like lost sheep.

We have followed too much the devices and desires of our own hearts.

We have offended against thy holy laws.

We have left undone those things which we ought to have done;

And we have done those things which we ought not to have done;

And there is no health in us.

But thou, O Lord, have mercy upon us, miserable offenders.

Spare thou them, O God, who confess their faults.

Restore thou them that are penitent;

According to thy promises declared unto mankind in Christ Jesus our Lord.

And grant, O most merciful Father, for his sake;

That we may hereafter live a godly, righteous, and sober life,

To the glory of thy holy Name.

Amen.

The End.

--

--

Torch Legacy Serials
The Common Prayer

Torch Legacy Publications is publishing Christian serial fiction on Medium!