CELEBRATION/MILESTONE POST

Celebrating Another Milestone Yet Again: 900 Stories

One day after hitting 4,000 followers, I’ve now published my 900th story

--

By Tiemestari — Own work, CC BY-SA 4.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=115761306

It feels like just yesterday when I posted my last celebration post. Oh, wait, it actually was yesterday…Well, I didn’t expect to hit two major milestones two days in a row. Overnight on March 1, I crossed the 4,000-follower threshold for the first time. After writing a whopping five stories yesterday, I ended the day with 898 stories. Since I’ve been working hard at completing Keeley Schroder’s writing challenge responses daily, that meant that my next story after that would be my 900th published story since I started on Medium back in August 2021.

It’s been such a journey. I could never have imagined turning an unpaid online hobby into something that almost feels like a second chance at a career. Despite living in Western New York in the United States of America and also being a part of the Medium Partner Program, I’ve never once monetized any of my stories. Yeah, I know, many people have already told me that I should and that I could.

I just don’t really want to at this point. I know that my stories have amassed nearly 500,000-lifetime views on this platform and I’m just happy to have the exposure. It’s much better than if I would’ve just started as an unknown writing my own blog website lost in the millions of others online doing the same thing. At least, I changed up my routine and I’m no longer playing video games 12–18 hours a day.

Plus, I’ve gotten to meet so many great people. I’ve met writers and new friends from all over the globe. It’s been a major blessing for me during the pandemic since I can no longer work and have had pretty limited interaction with my friends and family since the pandemic started. One of those limiting factors was being so far away from my home state of California being on the opposite coast but also the fears of the ongoing threat of COVID-19.

I have already contracted the virus three times and the most recent spell knocked me and my partner back for months. I still feel the ongoing effects of long COVID to this day. This last year has also been pretty eventful, good or bad, for us.

We lost our old home, the Ford F-350 box truck that we had converted into our first tiny home when the engine exploded while we were trying to get up a hill. We were stranded in a Buffalo parking lot for over a month, including during the major blizzard that killed dozens of people with record snow, cold, and wind.

We survived that Christmas weekend and got our generator to continue working after but we sure did have a scare. Then we were forced to move all of our stuff into our new RV before we were ready. We’ve now been in our new RV for nearly two months and are still in Western New York. We needed to set up a fundraiser back in December as funds got really tight during that whole ordeal.

We were met with a generous, loving, and caring community on Medium. I don’t know what we would’ve done without the generosity and support of the friends that I met here. I have so many people to thank but that can wait until the end. I want to start by saying thank you again to all of the readers, editors, and writers that I work with on a daily basis across all of the publications that I edit for (Digital Global Traveler, The Press Box, The Random Nerdiness Collective, The Community Building Movement, Internationale, Badform, and New Writers Welcome).

As I did with yesterday’s post, I will highlight more writers that I enjoy to highlight some of the great work here on Medium. The tag section of this one might be a little bigger than the last one only because the audience has grown and I always feel like I’m leaving someone out if I don’t mention them.

I swear I don’t do these massive tags to get you to read my story. I only want to say thank you if you ever see me put you in one of these. I feel fortunate to have been blessed with interacting with so many brilliant and lovely people. I mean, I don’t get paid for these reads, after all. What real incentive do I even have to spam people? I really hate when that’s done to me, isn’t that right, Susie Kearley? Well, anyway, I’ll get back to you in the features section. I want to just mention our friend, Mike Lewis, again as he travels and blogs about it.

Featured Stories

See, what did I say, Susie Kearley?

Dan Carlson | Meandering Naturist

Ann Christine Tabaka

Mona S Gable

Robin Wilding 💎

Michael Rhodes

Katie Michaelson

Susie Winfield

Quinn's Kaleidoscope

Adeline Rivero

Anne the Vegan

K. Joseph

I want to share with you briefly the stats from my top 10 most viewed Medium stories of all time. Hopefully, these screenshots can either inspire you or inform you of some of the topics that have been successful for me over my writing career.

Top 5 stories as snipped by author from Medium
The remaining five from the top 10 as snipped by author from Medium

Before I go to my tags, you can either contact me through any of my publications or you can comment below if you’re interested in joining in any capacity (writer or editor). I’m now about to regret my life choices by making a page that will be so unloadable, you’ll be screaming at your computer for minutes. I remember when you brought that up to me one of the last times I did one of these, TzeLin Sam.

Starting with my editors, Mary Louisa Cappelli, MFA, JD, PhD, Sandra Jasionowska, Bumpyjonas - he/him, Sieran Lane, Vidya Sury, Collecting Smiles, B A Little, and of course JF Danskin with the honorable mention as he recently had to leave our team to fulfill other obligations.

Then I continue to mention some of the great editors that I’ve worked alongside in the past. Christine Schoenwald, KiKi Walter, Christopher Robin, Scot Butwell, Debra Groves Harman, MEd, Mike Butler, Scott Younkin, Janet Meisel, Preeti Ramachandran, Bernice P., Ira Robinson, Anjali Joshi, Tamil, Kit Desjacques, kt lee, Gaurav Jain, Suzanne Pisano, Marketa Zvelebil, Sofia Chen, JoAnn Ryan, Anne Bonfert, Adrienne Beaumont, and Jillian Amatt - Artistic Voyages

And some of the ones I get to work with now. Robert Ralph, Sally Prag, Drashti Shroff, Andrey Pilipets, Mona S Gable, Linda Ng, Erica Marie, Marilyn Glover, and Lucy Socha over at What is Love to You, a publication I haven’t worked at but is part of Robert’s family of publications with New Writers Welcome. While I’m at it, I’d also like to thank Gabby Gabs who I haven’t had a chance to talk to in a while.

I’m also going to mention many editors that I work with frequently in my writing, Katie Michaelson, Dr. Gabriella Korosi, Darren Weir, Hollie Petit, Ph.D., Toni the Talker, James Beaufait, Jason Provencio, Dr Mehmet Yildiz, Gareth Willey, Dr John Frederick Rose, Gary L Ellis, Adrienne Parkhurst, Julie Gaeta, the — ShortClipWriter, Barb Dalton, Ginger Cook, Smillew Rahcuef, Michael Burg, MD (Satire Sommelier), Kristine Laco, Jennifer McDougall, and Brett Jenae Tomlin.

Others that I’ve worked with in the past have included Celtic Chameleon, Sahil Patel, James Finn, and Logan Silkwood

I forgive everyone else that I’m forgetting as I write this. There are so many talented editors and writers to keep in my head all at once but I appreciate all of you.

The Keeley challenge community: AMEastern, Autistic Widower (“AJ”), Karen Schwartz, Adrienne Beaumont, Bernie Pullen, NancyO, Robert G. Longpré — [he/him] — Canadian métis, Katie Michaelson, Vidya Sury, Collecting Smiles, Brett Jenae Tomlin, redkitewrites, Richard Bailey, Marilyn Flower, Keeley Schroder, Laure Dorsemaine, Debika Kumari, Michelle Jimerson Morris, Celia McKinley, Pamela Oglesby, Julie KingGood, Charisse Tyson, Amy Frances, Julia A. Keirns, Ravyne Hawke, Toni the Talker, Cathy Cremer, Pat Romito LaPointe, Harry Hogg, Tina, Kayla Tackett, C Cap1, Anna Itzel Cazita, K. Joseph, Brandon Ellrich, Misty Rae, Karen Hoffman, and Deb Palmer.

Now, I’m going to be tasked with trying to mention as many people as I can in the finale of this community celebration. If you want this story to load and you haven’t seen your name yet and figured that it’s below, you could check or just skip to the end and comment. I’ve also included the other celebration post from yesterday for 4,000 followers below.

Yana Bostongirl, Victor Cardenas, Rusty Shackleford, Joe Wade, Lysergic World Design, Carmellita, Danielappletona, Ginger Bangs, Floyd Mori, Jay Davidson, Elisabeth Khan, The Night Bunny, Danielappletona, and Michele Maize

Shirley Laffa, Ginger Cook, Brian Lageose, Diana Meresc, Pat Romito LaPointe, David Perlmutter, Kristine Laco, Sreese, Michael Burg, MD (Satire Sommelier), Val Francis, Blogs by J, Jennifer McDougall, Gunner Barrett, Lysergic World Design, Michael Cappelli, Sreese, Kurt S. Inu, Toni Greathouse

Lauren Michaels, RobertWiley77, Britt River, Jasmine Jin, Julia Guerra Slater, Janin Lyndovsky, Nathaniel Mellor, Olivia Reed, A Palace Of Ideas, Ad Meliora, Alvin T., Anchit Jassal 📝, Avrantsa’s Note, Bobbie Isabel, Backwards Tshirt, Belcairn, Suntonu Bhadra, Bookaweb, B.R. Shenoy, Byron Clarke, Caryn Hacker Buechel, Casey Lawrence, Cat Dee, Charisse Tyson, Collette Langley, Debbie Walker, Dhallia, Elvie Lins, Kamal samaila, Balin Kruse-Williams, Fred: Almost Famous, Gatlin McPherson, Gerad Carrier, Nick Iakovidis, Ian Burke, Irene Louise, Jona Branzuela Bering, James Baxter, Jameson Steward, Janice Harayda, Jarrod Zenjiro Suda, Jit Yih, Jodi Monroe, Jordhan Robinson, kathryn donahue, Konner Blunt, Kua Lina, Kevin Brass, Daniela Zamudio, Kim Baker, Mahoney KORPE, Laurie Morin, Lotta Eirado, Lusine Arshakyan, Malky McEwan, Marcus Tan, Mariana Carvalho, M. Elizabeth Blair, Meysam, Michael Rhodes, Miss Victoria, Melissa Morris, Mel Bee Millanes, M T Sutphin, Koreopatra, Dan Carlson | Meandering Naturists, Natacha Cryer, Niharikaa Kaur Sodhi, Nella DiCarlo, Nobody, Oscar Rhea, Pierre Matile, Pinar Karahan, Pooja Nayak, Rahil Chadha, Robert Knight, Rob, RT, DΞNYS SΞRGUSHKIN, Sam Millichap, Sonja Glucksberg, Shelley Rohm, Tanner Hauck, Terry Day, Terry Dip, Thea Elise, Rachel Tea, _Travelholic_, Usama Bin Tariq Qureshi, Valerie Delzer, Vritant Kumar, Zuzanna Żak, Ilma Andrade, Zlatanovic Marko, Sebastian Schuckelt, Ryan Mac, UNIQUE News, Saws, Zoë Poulsen, Ari Love, Gabi Elizabeth, Lily Lum, Brittany Kathleen, notsuperhero, rusdianto272, DemiRose Mawby🌹🌹🌹, Ali Ahmer, Nick Collins, Raquel_jadee, Valenti Govantes, Ismail Erdemir, Abdi Mohamed, Raffaella De Amicis, Blue Rose, Bella Rose, Jaime G, Candace J. Dixon, HallowedWay.Com, Aarti Tailor, Manali Mitra, TRAVEL STORIES BY GABE, Katerina Shtybina, Joseph Charles Naoum, Nishan Fuard, Oluwatoyin Anu, Betty, Dana Anagnostou, bakagaijin, Luna Moss, Midshel Merlin, Alvaro Corrales Cano, Wellness Xplora, Cindy Brochard, Jcrdesertsafari, Sarah Mathrick, Jerry Dwyer, Lauri Novak, Warsan Garrow, Emelinerenz, Shame on Us, Rick McBride, Vincent Gragnani, Lanial, N.V. Foxes, Mel Foley, Michelle Y. Kwak, Isabel Boggia, David Perlmutter, Happicamper2021, Maggie Gigandet, B Dh, T.J. Rowntree, Alastair Williams, ™️Mindset, Seasonal Summer, Judy Durham, 陳翠蓮, Zahra Nazeer, C Sylvie van den Hogen, Hela Travels, Danielappletona, Kate Tomassi, Subah sadiq, Viileeu Teofilo, Daniela QG, Rhys Sydney, Louise Mcternan, Derrick McQueen, Alex P., Nicki J, Labun Hang Limboo, Ilam Padmanabhan, Laurellynn, Kim Good 44, Donna Hall, Livia Dyring, Rebekah Megan, Catherine Arnett, Francisco C., Julie van Maanen, Dabney Eastham, Lifestyle With Nina, Ning Choi, Gary Kramer, Jeffrey Long, Aarya Morwal, Kan Kante Hsieh, TIM CUNNINGHAM, Ryan Quinn, Elin Melaas, DeeDee, Alex Orr, Haleemah Abdul Hadi, Sieran Lane, Clarry (Chona Uson), Jo Muller, Digital Red Crabs 🦀, Rachael Bao, Marie Barnes, and Infotoweraig.

Dawn Smiles, Rose Thompson, Ning Choi, Tashima Agrawal, Anna Magtalas, Brutal Nation, Cecirahim Sesay, MPH, C.D. Hoyle, Daniel Olatunde, Ev R0ck, Heather Gioia, Goodhead Justice, Little Jack, Jennifer Dunne, Karen Schwartz, Nishan Fuard, Nita Jain, Rubix King, PJ Kaplan, Ronald Smit, Audree Thurman, Elizabeth Sobieski, Val Francis, The Nerdish Writer, Thomas AP | ESC Mediocrity, Graydiane, ROSHNA, Natalie R., Miguel Lima, Stoner 916, Manali Jarząbkiewicz, Bunnyteeth Medusa, Beck & Bulow, Nick Collins, Marilyn Flower, Shadiya Afrin, Kathy J Anderson, @yeekate777, Misswoolf WhoWrote, Bob Forest, Jason Matt Lukis, MBA, MS, Queeneliz, Randyduke, Natalie Tolliday, TCb Dom amuso, Goddess, Sofia Ruyle, Nick Voth, Joy DeSomber, Jangmalaha, Pete Govea, Linden Schneider, Serge Bokov, Pierce McIntyre, Prahalad Rajkumar, Vanessa Brown, Kevin Sonney, Sue Belzer, Ajagunsamuel, Berberacious, Leslie Byrne, Pranol Mathew, Amber Experiencing, Rashidmubashir

Alan Simpson, David Todd McCarty, Napoleon, Neel Patel, Christian Aviles, Charles BlouinGascon, Keyshawn Shaahid, Scott Younkin, Richard Barrett, Manavpal, Paul Walker, Dom DeFonso, Susan McCorkindale, Nathan Middleton, Chris Meglio, Kevin Shay, Gavin Odell, Julian Terenzio, Paula Fontes, Jim Nightingale, Jordan Pagkalinawan, Deolu Akingbade, Danielle DiPre, Patrick Hollis, Phoenix Mōsher, Jamie Fu, John Egelkrout, Michael Perreault, Scott-Ryan Abt, Dan Kadlec, Jean Elizabeth Glass, Danny Twoguns, Charlie van Houten, BichoDoMato, Darryl Ventura, Reinaldo Caraballo, Daniel Eliezer, KL Simmons, Wade Allen, Craig Tyson Adams, Amber Jain, Stephanie Wilson, Carl-Henry Cadet, Eric Forseth, David Bryson, Tom Egelhoff, David, Michael Alvaro, Barb Dalton 🇺🇦, David McCalley, Patrick Parker, Jason Robinson, Jeremy Pratt, Smillew Rahcuef, Cliff Hightower, Vickey Maverick, Evon, DS Racer, Will Hull, Lee Bidoski, Thanasis Papadopoulos, Sharon Johnson, Herbert Dyer, Jr., Melinda Miles-Lindberg, Matthew Suh, Wynn Lavie, Terry O, BW, Katemiya, Jesse Bramani, Philip Ogley, Jake Palmer, Jessica M.

Samuel Ortiz, Reinaldo Caraballo, Bob Merckel, Monoreena Acharjee Majumdar, Spyder Darling, Wordcast Media, M R, Down to Virgo, P. L. Goaway, Lin, Crutchfieldhilala, Sundar Visweswaran, Kartika Lestari, Imran Hasan, Achal

Rereloluwa Adeolu, Tony Jacobsen, Anna Boulas, Johnmooner-chief, Jessica Barnhurst, Penny Goblin, Erica Leigh, Linda Fode, Shadiya Afrin, Patrick OConnell, Sam Finlayson, Clarence R. Williams, louie anderson, E.B. Mariam, Analysis With Anh, Nadja Scarlett, Herbert Dyer, Jr., Kelley Murphy, J.D., Commusings, Jerry Dwyer, Gdzeche, Desiree Driesenaar, Taressa Watson, Chris Thompson, Heather Switalski, Sam W., Sara Burdick, Serge Bokov, Juniper Edith Sage, Pluto Wolnosci, Lucia Landini, Henry India Holden, Taylor Harrington, Kathy K, Jasmine Ann Smith, Dun Hills, Rankinm, Ron & Roxanne Steed, Maryam Pardesi, Dr. Tracy Davis, Keno, Christine Morris Ph.D., Love Doctor, Rodrigo S-C, Aunty Jean, Lila Bear, Shereen Bingham, Deeianira, Jean Elizabeth Glass, Kristina God, Eko BP

Kathy Beal, Harold Zeitung, Jessica White, Jupie Wilder, Graham D. Cooke, OLGA GÓEZ, Julie Harper, Rip Parker, Snka Wkn, Robin Lea Laurain, Flutterby, LavenzaCheshire, Teresa Wymore 🏳️‍🌈, Aiko Ryzuka, Robert Shaneyfelt, Roger Good, Asher Smith, Mark Kleimann, Angela Buffington, Traveling Abroad, Iluvstevienicks, Martin Allen, Lynnesp, Bridget M. Jeffery, Trent Fox, Pauline Evanosky, Harry Hogg, C.A. Jaymes, Ted Czukor, Chukwudi, Lily Reslink, Bordelonmarie, Elizabeth Kaldeck Smith, JM Heatherly, Nancy Oglesby Wellness, Anne Skyvington, Michael De Shannon, Robert G. Longpré, John R Godwin, Shane Berry, Pamela Oglesby, Leonard Tillerman, Josephine Crispin, Elassryl, DR Rawson - The Possibilist, Walid Desouky, Sanjukt Saha, Ujjwal Singh, Francisco Iglesias, Lynda Pinto-Torres, Dani Montage, Blogs by J, BloggingMyWay, Jonathan M Saucedo, Author, Sarah Gall, Faya Qureshi, Ravyne Hawke, AAAMCWB

--

--

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
The Community Building Movement

Gay, disabled in an RV, Cali-NY-PA, Boost Nominator. New Writers Welcome, The Taoist Online, Badform. Owner of International Indie Collective pubs.