Story Number 700: A Big Milestone and Celebration

An epic celebration and a welcome milestone as I’m recovering from COVID

--

By Homefryes — Own work, Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=1070603

Another 100 in the books. I’ve finally gotten to 700 stories. I feel like 700 was a very special number to reach at this point in my writing journey considering I’ve been writing full-time here since January 2022. November has been a very slow month for me as I’ve been recovering from COVID. For the first time since December 2021, I’ve been on a pace of less than one story per day. I’m just coming out of my best month ever for views on my stories as I just had 144,550 views in a 30-day span. I’ve also had six stories in the last 45 days go viral.

On top of that, I’m already between 400,000 and 500,000 lifetime views at this point. I imagine that I won’t reach 500,000 views as fast as I went between 300,000 and 400,000 views. That was only 15 days. I feel like it’ll take at least a month to reach the next milestone.

I’m continuing to enjoy writing, editing, and owning multiple publications. To date, I own five of my own in the family of publications called International Indie Collective (The Press Box, Digital Global Traveler, The Community Building Movement, The Random Nerdiness Collective, and Internationale).

I also regularly edit and publish in New Writers Welcome, Badform, and Klearance Cannabis Collection. There are also a number of publications that I’ve recently joined and become a writer in including Drop A Line Pub, Reciprocal, and Everything Fun that I’d love to start writing for soon.

I’m still writing occasionally for publications like The Authentic Eclectic, The Daily Cuppa, Sharing Food, What Is Love To You?, Globetrotters, and Doctor Funny.

I’d like to give a shoutout to other publications that I haven’t written in for a while including Focus!: A Reader In Animation History, Theory, Culture, Practice and Fandom, MIDFORM, The Orange Journal, The Memoirist, Age of Empathy, The Mayhem, The Shortform, Letters from a Sports Fan, Welcome to Writing!, Fuck Capitalism, Prism & Pen, Politically Speaking, and Writers Blokke.

I know that I’ve declared that I’m a fairly nicheless writer but I’ve fallen back on a few major categories as of late. I’m a huge sports fan so I’ve stuck to writing a few sports pieces, including my weekly power rankings for the NFL in my sports publication, The Press Box.

I even tried to do a contest for sportswriting in there as I had been a part of the judging for the Spring Tournament when the publication was under previous ownership. I only got the interest of five writers but we will announce the format and the way we will conclude that tournament to wrap it up by December 1st.

I also write a lot of personal stories and essays and those are usually the ones that are dearest to my heart. I enjoy sharing my life lessons and my personal struggles with a wider audience. Especially given that I’m living with chronic pain and that I live in a tiny home that moves.

That also fuels my passion for writing travel stories as well. In fact, I’ve achieved top writer status 12 times in 9 different subjects. The most recent subject that I got top writer recognition in is Health. That one makes sense to me as I have to be hypervigilant about my own health at all times.

There are so many stories that I have on the tip of my tongue right now that I have to ease out there because I’m still recovering from the month-long illness of COVID. I’m very happy that today is one of the first days that I actually feel semi-functional since being sick.

Today was also one of the first days in the place we’ve been in and it snowed a substantial amount. I want to get going soon so I’ll have more stories to tell while I’m on the road. I’m very happy to continue sharing my life with you one story at a time and look forward to continuing to engage, share ideas, and read all of the great stories out there from so many amazing people that I’ve met over the months I’ve been here.

I’m not going to hold back today. I think that I’m going to super tag this event since it’s been a while since I’ve really done that. I hope I don’t forget anyone and to make sure I’ll probably tag a few of you more than once.

Firstly, thanks directly to my editing team over at International Indie Collective: Vidya Sury, Collecting Smiles, Mary Louisa Cappelli, MFA, JD, PhD, Sandra Jasionowska, JF Danskin, Bumpyjonas, B A Little, and Asma Mohseni.

Debra G. Harman, MEd., Mike Lewis, Carmellita, Sieran Lane, Jay Davidson, Elisabeth Khan, The Night Bunny, Danielappletona, Michele Maize, Katie Michaelson, Ann Christine Tabaka, Christopher Robin, KiKi Walter, James Finn, Preeti Ramachandran, Kit Desjacques, Bernice P., Kathy Copeland Padden, kt lee, Ginger Cook, Ira Robinson, Scot Butwell, Scott Younkin, Sofia Chen, Marketa Zvelebil, Suzanne Pisano, Christine Schoenwald, Tamil, Anjali Joshi, Janet Meisel, Pamela Oglesby, Jillian Amatt — Artistic Voyages, Anne Bonfert, JoAnn Ryan, Robert Ralph, Mona S Gable, Drashti Shroff, Gabby Gabs, Lucy Socha, Marilyn Glover, Andrey Pilipets, Linda Ng, Erica Marie, Sally Prag, and TzeLin Sam.

Shirley Laffa, Ginger Cook, Brian Lageose, Diana Meresc, Pat Romito LaPointe, David Perlmutter, Kristine Laco, Sreese, Michael Burg, MD (Satire Sommelier), Katie Michaelson, The Celtic Chameleon, Logan Silkwood, Darren Weir, Val Francis, Blogs by J, Jennifer McDougall, Gunner Barrett, Lysergic World Design, Michael Cappelli, Sreese, Kurt S. Inu, Toni Greathouse

Lauren Michaels, Rip Randal, RobertWiley77, Britt River, Jasmine Jin, Julia Guerra Slater, Janin Lyndovsky, Nathaniel Mellor, Olivia Reed, A Palace Of Ideas, Ad Meliora, Alvin T., Anchit Jassal 📝, Avrantsa’s Note, Bobbie Isabel, Backwards Tshirt, Belcairn, Suntonu Bhadra, Bookaweb, B.R. Shenoy, Byron Clarke, Caryn Hacker Buechel, Casey Lawrence, Cat Dee, Charisse Tyson, Collette Langley, Debbie Walker, Dhallia, Elvie Lins, Kamal samaila, Balin Kruse-Williams, Fred: Almost Famous, Gatlin McPherson, Gerad Carrier, Nick Iakovidis, Ian Burke, Irene Louise, Jona Branzuela Bering, James Baxter, Jameson Steward, Janice Harayda, Jarrod Zenjiro Suda, Jit Yih, Jodi Monroe, Jordhan Robinson, kathryn donahue, Konner Blunt, Kua Lina, Kevin Brass, Daniela Zamudio, Kim Baker, Mahoney KORPE, Laurie Morin, Lotta Eirado, Lusine Arshakyan, Malky McEwan, Marcus Tan, Mariana Carvalho, M. Elizabeth Blair, Meysam, Michael Rhodes, Miss Victoria, Melissa Morris, Mel Bee Millanes, M T Sutphin, Koreopatra, Dan Carlson | Meandering Naturists, Natacha Cryer, Niharikaa Kaur Sodhi, Nella DiCarlo, Nobody, Oscar Rhea, Pierre Matile, Pinar Karahan, Pooja Nayak, Rahil Chadha, Robert Knight, Rob, RT, DΞNYS SΞRGUSHKIN, Sam Millichap, Sonja Glucksberg, Shelley Rohm, Tanner Hauck, Terry Day, Terry Dip, Thea Elise, Rachel Tea, _Travelholic_, Usama Bin Tariq Qureshi, Valerie Delzer, Vritant Kumar, Zuzanna Żak, Ilma Andrade, Zlatanovic Marko, Sebastian Schuckelt, Ryan Mac, UNIQUE News, Saws, Zoë Poulsen, Ari Love, Gabi Elizabeth, Lily Lum, Brittany Kathleen, notsuperhero, rusdianto272, DemiRose Mawby🌹🌹🌹, Ali Ahmer, Nick Collins, Raquel_jadee, Valenti Govantes, Ismail Erdemir, Abdi Mohamed, Raffaella De Amicis, Blue Rose, Bella Rose, Jaime G, Candace J. Dixon, HallowedWay.Com, Aarti Tailor, Manali Mitra, TRAVEL STORIES BY GABE, Katerina Shtybina, Joseph Charles Naoum, Nishan Fuard, Oluwatoyin Anu, Betty, Dana Anagnostou, bakagaijin, Luna Moss, Midshel Merlin, Alvaro Corrales Cano, Wellness Xplora, Cindy Brochard, Jcrdesertsafari, Sarah Mathrick, Jerry Dwyer, Lauri Novak, Warsan Garrow, Emelinerenz, Shame on Us, Rick McBride, Vincent Gragnani, Lanial, N.V. Foxes, Mel Foley, Michelle Y. Kwak, Isabel Boggia, David Perlmutter, Happicamper2021, Maggie Gigandet, B Dh, T.J. Rowntree, Alastair Williams, ™️Mindset, Seasonal Summer, Judy Durham, 陳翠蓮, Zahra Nazeer, C Sylvie van den Hogen, Hela Travels, Danielappletona, Kate Tomassi, Subah sadiq, Viileeu Teofilo, Daniela QG, Rhys Sydney, Louise Mcternan, Derrick McQueen, Alex P., Nicki J, Labun Hang Limboo, Ilam Padmanabhan, Laurellynn, Kim Good 44, Donna Hall, Livia Dyring, Rebekah Megan, Catherine Arnett, Francisco C., Julie van Maanen, Dabney Eastham, Lifestyle With Nina, Ning Choi, Gary Kramer, Jeffrey Long, Aarya Morwal, Kan Kante Hsieh, TIM CUNNINGHAM, Ryan Quinn, Elin Melaas, DeeDee, Alex Orr, Haleemah Abdul Hadi, Sieran Lane, Clarry (Chona Uson), Jo Muller, Digital Red Crabs 🦀, Rachael Bao, Marie Barnes, and Infotoweraig.

Dawn Smiles, Rose Thompson, Ning Choi, Tashima Agrawal, Anna Magtalas, Brutal Nation, Cecirahim Sesay, MPH, C.D. Hoyle, Daniel Olatunde, Ev R0ck, Heather Gioia, Goodhead Justice, Little Jack, Jennifer Dunne, Karen Schwartz, Nishan Fuard, Nita Jain, Rubix King, PJ Kaplan, Ronald Smit, Audree Thurman, Elizabeth Sobieski, Val Francis, The Nerdish Writer, Thomas AP | ESC Mediocrity, Graydiane, ROSHNA, Natalie R., Miguel Lima, Stoner 916, Manali Jarząbkiewicz, Bunnyteeth Medusa, Beck & Bulow, Nick Collins, Marilyn Flower, Shadiya Afrin, Kathy J Anderson, @yeekate777, Misswoolf WhoWrote, Bob Forest, Jason Matt Lukis, MBA, MS, Queeneliz, Randyduke, Natalie Tolliday, TCb Dom amuso, Goddess, Sofia Ruyle, Nick Voth, Joy DeSomber, Jangmalaha, Pete Govea, Linden Schneider, Serge Bokov, Pierce McIntyre, Prahalad Rajkumar, Vanessa Brown, Kevin Sonney, Sue Belzer, Ajagunsamuel, Berberacious, Leslie Byrne, Pranol Mathew, Amber Experiencing, Rashidmubashir

Alan Simpson, David Todd McCarty, Napoleon, Neel Patel, Christian Aviles, Charles BlouinGascon, Keyshawn Shaahid, Scott Younkin, Richard Barrett, Manavpal, Paul Walker, Dom DeFonso, Susan McCorkindale, Nathan Middleton, Chris Meglio, Kevin Shay, Gavin Odell, Julian Terenzio, Paula Fontes, Jim Nightingale, Jordan Pagkalinawan, Deolu Akingbade, Danielle DiPre, Patrick Hollis, Phoenix Mōsher, Jamie Fu, John Egelkrout, Michael Perreault, Scott-Ryan Abt, Dan Kadlec, Jean Elizabeth Glass, Danny Twoguns, Charlie van Houten, BichoDoMato, Darryl Ventura, Reinaldo Caraballo, Daniel Eliezer, KL Simmons, Wade Allen, Craig Tyson Adams, Amber Jain, Stephanie Wilson, Carl-Henry Cadet, Eric Forseth, David Bryson, Tom Egelhoff, David, Michael Alvaro, Barb Dalton 🇺🇦, David McCalley, Patrick Parker, Jason Robinson, Jeremy Pratt, Smillew Rahcuef, Cliff Hightower, Vickey Maverick, Evon, DS Racer, Will Hull, Lee Bidoski, Thanasis Papadopoulos, Sharon Johnson, Herbert Dyer, Jr., Melinda Miles-Lindberg, Matthew Suh, Wynn Lavie, Terry O, BW, Katemiya, Jesse Bramani, Philip Ogley, Jake Palmer, Jessica M.

Samuel Ortiz, Reinaldo Caraballo, Bob Merckel, Monoreena Acharjee Majumdar, Spyder Darling, Wordcast Media, M R, Down to Virgo, P. L. Goaway, Lin, Crutchfieldhilala, Sundar Visweswaran, Kartika Lestari, Imran Hasan, Achal

Rereloluwa Adeolu, Tony Jacobsen, Anna Boulas, Johnmooner-chief, Jessica Barnhurst, Penny Goblin, Erica Leigh, Linda Fode, Shadiya Afrin, Patrick OConnell, Sam Finlayson, Clarence R. Williams, louie anderson, E.B. Mariam, Analysis With Anh, Nadja Scarlett, Herbert Dyer, Jr., Kelley Murphy, J.D., Commusings, Jerry Dwyer, Gdzeche, Desiree Driesenaar, Taressa Watson, Chris Thompson, Heather Switalski, Sam W., Sara Burdick, Serge Bokov, Juniper Edith Sage, Pluto Wolnosci, Lucia Landini, Henry India Holden, Taylor Harrington, Kathy K, Jasmine Ann Smith, Dun Hills, Rankinm, Ron & Roxanne Steed, Maryam Pardesi, Dr. Tracy Davis, Keno, Sharing Words, Love Doctor, Rodrigo S-C, Aunty Jean, Lila Bear, Shereen Bingham, Deeianira, Jean Elizabeth Glass, Kristina God, Eko BP

Kathy Beal, Harold Zeitung, Jessica White, Jupie Wilder, Graham D. Cooke, OLGA GÓEZ, Julie Harper, Rip Parker, Snka Wkn, Robin Lea Laurain, Flutterby, LavenzaCheshire, Teresa Wymore 🏳️‍🌈, Aiko Ryzuka, Robert Shaneyfelt, Roger Good, Asher Smith, Mark Kleimann, Angela Buffington, Traveling Abroad, Iluvstevienicks, Martin Allen, Lynnesp, Bridget M. Jeffery, Trent Fox, Pauline Evanosky, Harry Hogg, C.A. Jaymes, Ted Czukor, Chukwudi, Lily Reslink, Bordelonmarie, Elizabeth Kaldeck Smith, JM Heatherly, Nancy Oglesby Wellness, Anne Skyvington, Michael De Shannon, Robert G. Longpré, John R Godwin, Shane Berry, Pamela Oglesby, Leonard Tillerman, Josephine Crispin, Elassryl

I included all of the people from my publications and from email subscribers. I may have listed some people twice but I wanted to make sure the list was thorough. This is about as thorough as I’ll do the tags every 100 stories in the celebrations. Thank you all for your continued support and for helping to build a great community.

--

--

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
The Community Building Movement

Gay, disabled in an RV, Cali-NY-PA, Boost Nominator. New Writers Welcome, The Taoist Online, Badform. Owner of International Indie Collective pubs.