Concepts of Discourse

How it helped me improve my academic writing.

Sarah Manuels
The Compass Rose
1 min readDec 1, 2016

--

Throughout my fall semester in English 122 I have learns many different things in and out of the class room. I think the most important thing we learned in this course was the meaning of Discourse. Before this class I had no clue what Discourse was. While reading Gee’s I was able to understand that a Discourse is

saying(writing)-doing-being-valuing-believing combinations(6)

Even though the concept of Discourse was interesting I did think it helped me better my academic writing. While writing my Discourse paper I learned how to properly use a Barclays formula to form my opinion of the methods needed to enter a secondary Discourse. Not only did this topic help me globally but it also helped me learn some minor concepts of writing. I now better understand how to quote and cite using MLA format. Before I would list both the author and paper number even when I already introduced the author of the article. I was also able to learn more about fanboys and how to fix fragments that occur in my writing. Overall I believe that all of the information discussed during the topic of Discourse helped me better my writing. With both the help of the explanation of fragments and other polishing techniques in class, and the help of Amy explaining Gee’s Theory.

--

--