First Semester of College

Jarrett Ho
The Compass Rose
Published in
2 min readNov 30, 2017

College is definitely a huge change in life. You go from a small high schooler to a freshman in college. There are bound to be some huge changes. I personally love college. I love having instant access to friends and starting to learn about subjects that interests me. Yeah the work load is quite heavy but if I put in enough time and effort I can get through it. Since coming here I’ve learned to respect nature even more due to all the time spent on the beach. I am starting to notice and appreciate the little things in life. Lately I have been going to the beach at night just to look at the stars and in those few minutes everything seems to melt away. I clear all of my mind and just think about what I am thankful for. Back at home I would never get time alone, I would either be with my family or with friends. Here I can choose when I want to be alone and when I want to be with friends. Being in college also allows me to make friends, possibly for life. For me high school friendships seemed kind of forced to me, but here I can choose which people I want to hang out with and which ones I don’t. Although the solidarity is nice, sometimes you just miss your family and friends. Personally I am close enough to home that I could be there in 2 hours, but I have also made great friends on my floor and they help me through the home sick feeling. I have made such great friends that I honestly don’t want winter break to happen because they all come from far places and can’t interact face to face for a whole month.

Photo Credit Flickr

--

--