Growth Within

Michael Tuzzo
The Compass Rose
Published in
2 min readDec 4, 2017

This past semester learning about having a growth mindset has really helped me grow within myself. I recently tore my bicep in august while playing football and from that I learned many things. It showed me how anything you work for can be delayed due to extreme measures. While this happened to me learning about having a growth mindset really gave me inspiration to overcome this injury. I’ve always worked hard to better myself for the game of football and when this injury happened I lost myself. I didn’t know what to do with myself or what to think. A lot of negative energy passed through my body and I just didn’t know what to think. I felt all alone and thought that I will never fully recover. I had no hope and that’s when one day everything changed. I got a text from my mother of a quote. What that quote said was “No athlete is truly tested until they’ve stared an injury in the face and come out on the other side stronger than ever.” This hit me and I started to look at this injury as a minor setback for a major comeback. While learning about a growth mindset in class that helped me realize that I should be thinking of this injury as a positive outlook on my life and being a football player. I started to think of this injury as something positive and that in life we are faced with many barriers that trap us and bring us down. But having a growth mindset made me think that it’s not what happens to you, it’s what you do with what happens to you. I look forward to overcoming this injury and continuing my path to becoming a better person.

--

--