Life’s First Transition

Paul Guglietta
The Compass Rose
Published in
2 min readNov 30, 2017

I lived in the same town for my entire childhood, and I had gone to school with the same kids from grades 1–12. I love the town I lived in, but it was time for a change. I loved my parents dearly, and did not want to travel too far away from home for college. I explored schools all around New England, with the farthest being three hours away. Eventually, I decided on the school three hours away. August 11th came, and I moved in to my first dorm, away from home for the first time in my life. I never gave much thought to it that I was going to miss being home and miss all of the people I grew up with. The casual homesickness lasted about three days. I got to meet so many new people and created a couple of good first few friends in those first few days. After a couple of weeks, however, my new friends and I began to go in different directions. Once more people moved in at school, people began to find more new people and we all ended up in our different friend groups. I felt helpless at times, adjusting to all of the extensive work college had brought, and the people I had lived with were almost unbearable. After a room change, the days became easier and the work became a little less stressful. I was able to priortize my education more and was able to focus on school a lot more. With moving into that dorm, I met many more people that enjoyed my presence, and my overall mood has been improved ever sense. I absoultely love college. If you find the right school for you, the schoolwork will feel easier, and the important people in your life will follow through.

--

--