New Beginnings

Carolina Dimler
The Compass Rose
Published in
2 min readDec 1, 2016

Coming to college I knew that I was going to not be an athlete anymore. having done athletics for the 8 years of my life, it was going to be a serious change in my work ethic. I knew that I had to find a way to include fitness into my regimen somehow. So I decided to go to the gym at the Campus Center. When I used to live at home I was an all season athlete. There was never a point where I was working out, so I knew that I had to pick up some type of workout that would keep my metabolism going and keep me frm going the freshmen 15. I started off going 2–3 times a week, and I started off pretty average nothing to outstanding. I did a little bit of cardio and strength training. But since I had finished my athelics early in the summer I was a little behind on where I had wanted to be. However I began going more and more until it came to the point where I was going everyday. It became easier and easier for me to do things that at the start I couldn’t do. I then picked up the challenge of “I can’t to I can” This included me running a 7 minute mile. I was used to this because it was necessary for me to do, in order to be a starter for most of my sports. I built up a training list and put it work. It took maybe a month to achieve since I wasn’t putting in too much effort from the start. However it brought to start something knew, and that I still uphold now and plan to. This impacted my decision to take this to new levels for me to rise to. I courageously decided to register for a half marathon with my older brother. Having the 7 minute mile under my belt, I figured I might as well jump for the stars, and over Thanksgiving break we began training. If you had asked me 1 month ago, if I was going to take this to anything else I would’ve denied it. Although here I am, registered and training, for a half marathon in the spring. I would’ve never guessed that an english assignment would take me to train for something as rigorous and challenging as a half marathon.

--

--