Ciara Oakley-Robbins
The Compass Rose
Published in
2 min readDec 7, 2016

--

One thing that has changed for me since being in college is driving long distances. I live on cape cod and prior to going to college, I have only driven over the bridge 2 times. It was always nerve wracking to me to have to do this because the lanes are so small and I drive a big truck. I’m always scared that I would scrape against the sides or hit another car coming from the other direction. I didn’t really have a need to leave Cape Cod so I was content not going over the bridge. College came, and I chose a school not on Cape, so inevitably I was soon to have to start crossing the bridge. The first time I did it was with my dad, driving to school on the first day, August 28th. I drove my truck up here loaded with all my things for my new dorm. We left my house at 5:30 in the morning so there was barely anyone on the highway so going over the bridge seemed quite easy. The hard part didn’t come until two weeks later when I decide to come home for the weekend. I left school around 4 o’clock on a Thursday afternoon. There was so much traffic in Boston it was crazy. As I got closer and closer to Cape Cod I was getting more and more nervous about the bridge. Last time I had my dad with me and there weren’t more than 5 cars driving. Now, I am alone, driving in almost bumper to bumper traffic. As I approached the bridge I suddenly panicked and drove 30 mph (the speed limit is 45mph) in the middle of two lanes over the bridge. This was how I made sure I was safe. No cars could hit me on either side and I wasn’t going to rub against the railings. Most people near me were pretty annoyed that they couldn’t get around me and that I was going slow, but it is what I had to do to make sure I got home safe. Now I drive home every Thursday and come back on Sunday night or Monday mornings. Now I am a pro at driving over the bridge all because of college.

--

--