Summed Up Math

Sarah Robinson
The Compass Rose
Published in
2 min readDec 5, 2017

Growth Mindset

Since arriving at the University of New England, I have been able to overcome many adversities. I went into college not knowing what to expect from my professor, classes, and friends. As the first semester of college comes to an end, my views have changed. My view on the subject I most struggled with in high school was turned completly around. In the past, math class has been a real struggle for me. I don’t know whether it was just the concepts of math or just the exams, but it has been challenging for me in high school to do well. I came into college and I decided that I wanted to be good at math, not just to get a good grade but to get the self-confidence I wanted in the subject. I went through my semester long math class and I am doing very well. My professor knows that I wanted to get better at math, so she really broke down the math problems for me and made sure that I understood the process of getting the correct answer so that in the future I would be able to utilize what I had learned in this math class and use it in another more challenging one. My growth mindset went from, I can’t do math, math is horrible it sucks (closed mindset) to math is challenging for me but I want to get better at it so I am going to ask for help whenever I need it to make sure I understand it fully (growth mindset).

--

--