Using a Growth Mindset in College

Joe Kucky
The Compass Rose
Published in
1 min readDec 6, 2017

A growth mindset is something a person uses to get themselves in a better position then they were in before. It is like having that “I can” confidence when you may not be doing well in something like a class. For me I know I have been falling behind sometimes on my homework. In class we talk about how if we didn't do the homework we are given a grade of “not yet” instead of something like an F. By giving a grade of “not yet” it helps me realize that I have a second chance of getting myself out of a hole that I may have dug. If I believe this I get my work done and I get a better grade in the class. I believe that giving the grade of “not yet” helps students who are not doing well wake up and realize they have an opportunity to do good in that class.

--

--