What I learned about myself during my first semester of college

Blake Beverage
The Compass Rose
Published in
2 min readDec 7, 2016

I was so nervous to move into college. I spent the week before move in day on a cruise to Bermuda. I thought maybe I would be distracted by how much fun I was having on the cruise, although most of the time I found myself worrying about college. I was originally worried about my roommates and whether I would get stuck with someone who was a complete slob.

So after getting of the boat and returning home, the real stress set in. I had to pack up all the stuff I needed within a 24 hour time period. My Mom, my two little sisters, and I packed up both my car and my Mom’s and headed to UNE. The entire 2 hour drive there I felt sick to my stomach. Once we arrived and got all my stuff moved in, for some reason I had a huge weight lifted off my shoulder. I realized that my roommates were actually pretty cool and we had an awesome room which overlooked the water.

I was also nervous about making friends. At first I was not too excited about the initial floor meetings we had to bond with other people on our floor. I found the people on my floor to actually be pretty cool and I’m glad to call them my friends. I met these two girls during orientation over the summer and I am beyond thankful for them. They are always there for me whenever I need something and are always down for a late night trip to get food.

So I guess what I have learned about myself is that I’m better at making friends than I think. I’ve also learned that I shouldn’t worry about things that I can’t change and should just let them happen, because most of the time they work out to be pretty great. Everyone in college is going through the same thing and is terrified about this new experience. Although in the end, I wouldn’t have wanted it any other way. I will be forever thankful for UNE and Feathy 1st will always hold a special place in my heart.

--

--